Ricotta Fettuccine Alfredo with Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
A nice twist on alfredo! I did make a few modifications though. I substituted chicken broth for the butter, lowfat evaporated milk for the regular skim, and lowfat ricotta for the part-skim. I also added a hefty shake of white pepper. The consistency was smooth and perfect! Also, no need to steam the broccoli separately - just throw it in the pasta pot during the last 2-3 minutes of boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
My husband's Italian and he loved it! Trust me, it says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This was awesome! I added shrimp, fresh chopped garlic and fresh spinach leaves. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I've made regular fettucine alfredo a hundred times but just recently started adding ricotta. As if it wasn't artery clogging enough, right? Anyway, the way I do it is to use full milk ricotta and whole milk instead of skim. Of course this is super rich but it's not a meal for every day either. I'm not crazy for the taste of parm, so I don't use that much...I basically throw a small handful in at the end and mix it in. Also, make sure that the broccoli is fresh and not frozen. Remember to use salt and pepper to your own liking and not necessarily what the recipe calls for. Everyone has different tastes. I'm sure the right amount of salt will make a big difference in whether this dish is bland or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amalia1961

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by bbake
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Very bland. I'd suggest keeping the starchy pasta water to thin the sauce out because straight from the recipe its way too thick and dries out once it's incorporated with the pasta. If I were to make this again I might melt in a sharper cheese to punch up the flavor. This needs more salt and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
really good and quick recipe. since i didn't have any cream in the house, i was so happy to find this recipe, and i had all the ingredients in my fridge. Instead of broccoli, i blanched some sweet snap peas and added those, along with some baked chicken. I would recommend serving this dish immediately after adding the noodles to the sauce, or else it gets too thick and the noodles stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Family loved it. Has the alfredo taste, but it a bit lighter, due to the ricotta. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was delicious! Almost a perfect substitute for the real fettuccini alfredo! I didn't make any changes to the recipe but if I were to do it again I may add just a tad more milk (or less ricotta/parmesean) since the sauce was quite thick...almost pasty. The taste was excellent and both me and my healthy food hating husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
It's okay, nothing like good alfredo sauce because of the ricotta. Since i had some ricotta that I needed to get rid of I thought I'd try it. I also added shrimp which was a great addition. I think the recipe should include more salt. Good meal to make if you have the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Millin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This was really bland. I even added some crushed fresh garlic and it still didn't taste good. It smelled wonderful, but it didn't taste at all like it smelled. I may try playing with it sand seeing if I can make it less bland. Maybe using cornstarch inseat of the roux and using more garlic and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

To-Die-For Fettuccine Alfredo

See how to make a rich and delicious fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States