Ricotta Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by MickeyRenee
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I had one cup of ricotta cheese left over from making lasagna, and although I was weary about cookies with cheese in them, boy I am glad I tried this recipe! I halved the ingredients and baked the cookies for 13 minutes. It made 30 medium sized cookies. For the frosting I just used butter, powdered sugar, vanilla, and almond extracts thinned with water. These would make a great holiday cookie with the right colored sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
These were delicious! I only had about 8 ounces of ricotta so I just made a half recipe and that was more than enough. I used 3/4 cup of sugar to make it a little less sweet (if I made the full recipe I would of used 1 1/2 cups instead of 2 cups). For the glaze I kind of just made up my own...I whisked together 1 cup of powdered sugar, 2 tablespoons of lemon juice, 1 tablespoon of half and half, and a 1/2 teaspoon of lemon zest. I didn't top them off with any sprinkles and they still looked great. I liked how these cookies were more like little cakes than cookies and this was a great recipe to use up some leftover ricotta. Thanks for the yummy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I had about 8oz of ricotta cheese to use up, so I typed that into the search and came across this recipe. Thought..why not?? I didn't really know what to expect..but these cookies are fantastic. They totally remind me of the sprinkle cookies sold at my local bakery. I also love the lemon glaze! Yum. Oh..and even though I cut the recipe in half, I still ended up with 24 Large Cookies. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Good cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerrie Hicks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashby, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Never heard of this cookie but decided to try it with some ricotta I needed to finish. I followed this recipe to a tee (though without the icing) and they're OK. Good flavor, but kind of boring - and not because they're not very sweet. I wasn't expecting the cake-y texture. They do not spread out in the oven and remind me of biscuits. I suppose I should have read more than the reviews from the main page. The recipe certainly does make a lot of cookies tho - using a rounded tablespoon I made 60 cookies. I'm not sure if we'll be able to finish them all. Maybe the icing makes the cookie. Or maybe this is just not my kind of cookie. I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIRL40165

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
The cookies came out perfectly, and were enjoyed plain with lime curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
These were delicious! Be careful about storing them together, however. I made a large amount and stored them in a plastic container until I was ready to ice them. Although they were firm when I took them out of the oven, they got mushy and stuck together in the container. They were fine once I separated them and iced them (and then let dry), but you need to be careful not to store them covered together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
These are BETTER as they age! Instead of getting stale and hard, they are soft. The cookie isn't very sweet as is but frosted they are perfect. Skipped the lemon and added vanilla. Made them for a party but they were gone before that, everyone loves them. A definite keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Wow, the lemon icing made a difference! These cookies are a keeper. Had 6oz of ricotta to use up so I changed the serving to 18. I also used Cathy's lemon icing which is not really a big difference to this one but it was just my current favorite right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by bbake
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
The texture of these cookies are perfect! I didn't find them to be overly sweet at all. The cookie alone had a nice light buttery flavor with a cake like texture. I had to use lemon juice for the glaze but I loved the concept of flavors...ugh i wish i'd had lemon extract to give mine more of that lemon punch...then the sprinkles gave em a nice crunch of sweetness! I will def make these again for my son's birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States