Ricotta Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Wowwww. W.O.W. This recipe is just delicious! I used 2 tsp of butter rather than using shortening and about 3-3.5 cups of confectioners sugar for the frosting. Otherwise, I followed exactly. It's 11am at the office and half the batch is already gone! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessNeo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I have made these coolies several times and they always receive raves. I originally made them with almond extract in place of the lemon and I still prefer them that way. But I made them along with maraschino cherry cookies for a reception so I made them as written with the lemon and everyone loved them. I volunteer weekly at a local hospice, in fact the first time I tried them was there and I made them to use up some leftover ricotta. One of the current residents asked me to make anise flavored cookies and said she likes soft cookies so I made these for her last week using anise extract. Today I had planned to make a Valentine's Day dessert but when I got to the hospice Laura asked me to make these again. Before I left she must have already eaten at least eight of them. So thank you, Lisa, for a great recipe and thank you for adding a little enjoyment to one woman's final days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
THE Perfect Christmas Cookie Ever! I followed the recipe except I added 1 tsp. almond extract & 1 tsp. vanilla. These cookies do not spread so what size you put on the cookies sheet is the exact size you will yield when done baking. They are cake-like and very moist. Received Mmmmms from everyone. I think all almond extract would be great or even anise extract for a very Italian effect. Maybe lemon for Easter. I must admit that I was so tired when it came to frosting I just used the sugar, milk & sprinkles and they still turned out wonderful. Will be making these cookies every Christmas from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Easy and delicious! A softer version of the traditional Italian cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These cookies are awesome!! You have to make them! the only think I did different is for the frosting. I used 5 TBS milk, 1 TSP almond extract and 2 cups of milk.Everyone is raving over them! I will have to make another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
These are easy and delicious - used lemon zest and juice in icing. My container of ricotta was only 300 g so had to modify quantities. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Wonderful little cookies! I used my own lemon icing for these, but followed this cookie recipe exactly except that they baked for 13 mins, and they turned out wonderful! It made 120 small cookies, so make sure you have some time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MidnightCookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly for the cookie and all I could taste is flour. I made a powdered sugar/milk icing with sprinkles and my husband and son liked it. I didn't care for the flour-y taste. When I looked at other recipes, it used the same amount of ingredients but half the flour. This recipe has too much flour in it! If I make again, I'd halve the amount of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALULABELLE28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
A very light and tasty cookie. We liked everything about this - the taste, the texture and the finished presentation of the cookie. I baked up half the dough and used the cookies for Girls Night Out. All of the ladies enjoyed them. I refrigerated the leftover dough and used it a week and a half later. The cookies turned out just as well and the ones I baked the day the dough was made. An easy cookie to change the "sprinkles" according to the holdiay/season. Thanks Lisa for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I give this recipe five stars but have a couple changes. I do not use baking powder and 3 eggs, not just 2. A little extra ricotta helps keep them more moist. I started making these a few years ago and they have become a holiday tradition! Everyone loves them and throws a fit if I don't make them. We prefer just regular frosting (a tub of Betty Crocker vanilla, food colored for the holidays works great)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States