Ricotta Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I LOVE this recipe! It is super easy and SO delicious. Everyone who eats it agrees. ;) I made them last year for Christmas and again this year since they were such a hit. This time I substituted the vanilla extract for almond since I prefer the almond flavor and I used red and green sugar for Christmas colors. I also made them tablespoon sized so it was about half the servings with larger cookies. I absolutely love how light and fluffy they come out and they keep for quite some time when kept in the fridge. This will definitely become my annual Christmas tradition now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I have been making very similar cookies for years. I couldn't find my recipe so followed the one closest like it.ate the first batch , something wasn't right and I called my mother in law , which is Italian, and she told me right away - 1 tsp salt to dough and cut back on the vanilla or omit it ( my daughter likes better without vanilla in the dough)Huge difference!, just don't skip the salt ! They even rise better with it! Needed to bring the flavor out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Skip this recipe! It is time consuming with a so-so result. Wish I had made a half recipe. These were not good enough to share and there were 100 of them! Use your butter and powdered sugar to make Mexican Wedding Cakes which are truly delicate, melt in you mouth and much easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
These cookies are amazing! So different from any other cookie I've baked or eaten. They were an instant hit with my husband. I followed the directions exactly, except for reducing the vanilla to teaspoons rather than tablespoons. I would agree with other reviewers that the glaze should be doubled and the amount of milk reduced slightly to make for a thicker glaze. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This was a great recipe!!! But I did double the recipe as I had a 30 oz ricotta container. I will say the glaze didn't work for me so I did the glaze from Giada from food network ricotta cookie recipe, turned out much better :) Also will be using less sugar next, they were a little sweet for me but turned out wonderful, everyone loved them!!! Side note... don't bother rolling them out the dough is too sticky. Just go buy one of those small cookie scoops and use that so much easier and you'll be happier with out all the mess on your hands and they pretty much look the same anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Delicious! Lovely spongy texture, and delicate flavor, make these very easy to eat. The almond extract in the icing adds just the right flavor interest. Makes a large quantity, but they freeze very well in a cookie tin (with waxed paper between layers, of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ararhonda
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I did add less butter by substituting applesauce for 1 stick of butter and they still came out quite good. Make sure you refrigerate the dough and use 1/2 tsp for measuring the balls. The flavor would be better with almond flavoring with the vanilla. Also, be quick to put the sprinkles because it hardens fast once you put it on the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
There are several problems with this recipe.I like to use 2 to 3 teaspoons of vanilla, not tablespoons. Also, I use 3 to 4 teaspoons of milk when making the glaze, not 5 tablespoons. Adjust the sugar and milk as needed to make a thick consistency. I had to make 2 batches of glaze to cover the cookies. I may have made the balls a little bigger because I only got 75 cookies and I had to bake for 15 min These cookies came out perfect and flavorful. I did not not beat the dough with an electric mixer. I mixed the ingredients with a spoon until well blended - din't over mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This is a great recipe!! I change it a little and everyone goes crazy for them... Add 2 cups sugar instead... Then I use lemon extract instead of almond and yummy! I also like the batter sticky.... Just drop them on cookie sheet in a tablespoon size ball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Made it as written and yummy! I used a pastry brush for the glaze instead of scoops of it....less messy. Will definitely keep this for yearly Christmas cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States