Ricotta Cheese Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I made this to use up some ricotta cheese & I will be making it again for sure. I didn't use any crust as I can't have wheat but it was still easy to dish out. I sprinkled cinnamon on a plate outlining a fork then placed the pie topped with a drizzle of chocolate sauce & sour cherries. My husband loved it & this will be one of my go to recipes for guests & for just because days. A nice light not too sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I think a bit less milk would have worked out better for me, but I also used graham cracker crust, works well with that and adds a bit of nice texture. I want to try this with an Oreo crust next to see if that adds anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I loved this pie! Made it twice now in 2days, and a few asked for recipe. Brought back memories of my late grandmother's cheese pie-delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Great recipe for a pie. I made a few changes, I used condenced sweet milk insted of skim milk. Made it sweet but not too sweet. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I was looking for the traditional Italian style ricotta pie to make for my inlaws and, my mother-in-law said it tasted just like the traditional ricotta!! I did not change anything in the recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Very good. I just made this tonight and it turned out wonderful. The only thing I did differently was I added just a bit of honey and a very small amount of lemon rind to the cheese mixture. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Ann
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Make it the night before and keep it in the refridgerator. It has a smoother texture the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I work as a cook at a senior center. I made this recipe for them. They all loved it! It is like an old fashioned custard. Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made this pie to serve at my New Year's Eve gathering, and now I wish I hadn't (I probably should have "tested" it first. Especially since I was kind of "skeptical" of the ingredients -- especially the vanilla -- from the start). It cooked up well (that was not the problem) but nobody (including me) seemed to like it. In the future, I think I will stick with my "traditional" ricotta cheese pie -- which includes rice, spinach and a very generous sprinkling of Parmesan cheese. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
i added a tablespoon of orange marmelade and a little apricot preserves, salt, and a dash of lemon juice for a flavor boost, and the results were pretty good, although i'm not crazy about the grainy texture of the ricotta. i might try this again with cottage cheese, using less milk. the pie is better chilled. this is a good, simple, inexpensive recipe for any occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States