Ricotta Cheese Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I made this to use up some ricotta cheese & I will be making it again for sure. I didn't use any crust as I can't have wheat but it was still easy to dish out. I sprinkled cinnamon on a plate outlining a fork then placed the pie topped with a drizzle of chocolate sauce & sour cherries. My husband loved it & this will be one of my go to recipes for guests & for just because days. A nice light not too sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I think a bit less milk would have worked out better for me, but I also used graham cracker crust, works well with that and adds a bit of nice texture. I want to try this with an Oreo crust next to see if that adds anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I loved this pie! Made it twice now in 2days, and a few asked for recipe. Brought back memories of my late grandmother's cheese pie-delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Great recipe for a pie. I made a few changes, I used condenced sweet milk insted of skim milk. Made it sweet but not too sweet. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I was looking for the traditional Italian style ricotta pie to make for my inlaws and, my mother-in-law said it tasted just like the traditional ricotta!! I did not change anything in the recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Very good. I just made this tonight and it turned out wonderful. The only thing I did differently was I added just a bit of honey and a very small amount of lemon rind to the cheese mixture. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Ann
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Make it the night before and keep it in the refridgerator. It has a smoother texture the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I work as a cook at a senior center. I made this recipe for them. They all loved it! It is like an old fashioned custard. Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made this pie to serve at my New Year's Eve gathering, and now I wish I hadn't (I probably should have "tested" it first. Especially since I was kind of "skeptical" of the ingredients -- especially the vanilla -- from the start). It cooked up well (that was not the problem) but nobody (including me) seemed to like it. In the future, I think I will stick with my "traditional" ricotta cheese pie -- which includes rice, spinach and a very generous sprinkling of Parmesan cheese. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
i added a tablespoon of orange marmelade and a little apricot preserves, salt, and a dash of lemon juice for a flavor boost, and the results were pretty good, although i'm not crazy about the grainy texture of the ricotta. i might try this again with cottage cheese, using less milk. the pie is better chilled. this is a good, simple, inexpensive recipe for any occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States