Ricotta Cheese Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bwrightwoman
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I found this recipe while searching for ways to use leftover ricotta & made it for family worship. I made the ricotta mixture earlier in the day, I added some almond extract too, so when I was assembling the cake it was runny. At first I thought to just toss it but couldn't bring myself to be so wasteful & I'm glad I finished the process. The instruction that says to scoop onto cake, well I gave mine a quick stir then POURED it onto the cake it was so thin. It was almost to the very top of the pan. Made it in a bundt pan & before adding anything I sprayed the whole pan w/Pam then swirled powder sugar about 1/2 way up to help release the cake. Because it was so full I put a layer of heavy duty foil underneath to catch spillage but it all stayed in the pan. I had to cook it an additional 15 min due to how runny it was & when done I ran a spatula along the edge then let it sit about 25 min to cool before trying to get it out of the pan. I ran the spatula in the inner/outer circle then started gently shaking the pan back & forth & upwards to REALLY release the cake. I inverted it over my tupperware cake holder then PRAYED! Oh my goodness it's so pretty then my next thought was I should have added pineapple! Next time I will. After study I sliced it up & they loved it. Not a sweet cake & EXTREMELY moist. We ate it as is. Thank you for sharing its a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwrightwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Followed the recipe but used Splenda cake mix and granules in place of sugar. My family loved it!!! Teen boys put strawberry jam on top when serving but liked the cake alone as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Very good recipe. The cheese mixture melted in the cake but it still tasted just fine. We tried it with strawberries and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I made this with a dark chocolate cake mix in a bunt pan. Turned our great but the filling is not what I expected. The consistantry was strange. Too eggy. I added chocolate chips. Needs to be cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Ny mom called this a Ricotta cake To prevent the ricotta from sinking to the bottom, she used 2 lbs of DRAINED ricotta and mixed it with the eggs, sugar and whatever flavorings. She then would take 1/3 to 1/2 of the ricotta mix and then mix that with the prepared cake mix before adding the ricotta to the top. This way the cakey part is denser, more like a pound cake. Then the ricotta topping does not sink to the bottom. Either way, it is just a matter of preference. But to prevent a soggy cake, you must drain the ricotta as some are more watery than others. I use a cheesecloth lined strainer, put it over a bowl, and leave it in the fridge for a few hours until you see the clear whey in the bowl. Discard the whey and the ricotta is ready to use. If you don't mind your cake a little soft, then don't drain the ricotta. But I always do when making cakes. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Well, my enthusiasm For this cake was quickly erased! It tastes great! But.... Looks terrible! In the defense of the recipe, I did use a bunt pan.....won't do at again! I will make it again, but will use the pan recommended. The strawberry topping hid the imperfections! Can't complain about anything with strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
not bad but i think i prefer eating the yellow cake alone... the cheese mixture sinks to the bottom and it is quite soggy... don't think i'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I had leftover ricotta to use, so I thought I'd try this recipe. I honestly don't know how it got such good reviews. The texture is odd and it took about 20 min longer to set up than the recipe stated. It's edible, but definitely not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I made changes suggested by others: cut the sugar out, used 4 eggs instead of 3, added a couple ounces cream cheese, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, and almond instead of vanilla extract in the filling. I topped it with blueberry sauce (from this site) and Cool Whip. In hindsight, I would add maybe 1/4 cup of sugar, because without the topping, the filling didn't add a whole lot. I made these into cupcakes and the ricotta mixture sank into the middle of the cupcake when baking, creating a wonderful surprise and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I used lemon cake mix and lemon extract and 15 oz container of Skim Ricotta and it is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States