Ricotta Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Mistakingly used 7 eggs. Baked it in a bund the pan, took it out after 1:25, it was way too brown, smelled burnt, and not done on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Dye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I found the directions difficult to follow. I am happy with how mine came out all in all, but I will still search and try others on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d_cookinggirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The ricotta didn't sink, instead it seemed to evaporate? What little was left stayed on top. The cake layer dried out really bad. Thankfully I put chocolate chips in one side and berries in the other, the added flavors kind of salvaged it. Kind of. Wasn't horrible but I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made the recipe as is except I used a lemon cake mix. In case there is any confusion, I used a total of 7 eggs. 3 in the cake mix and 4 in the ricotta. I made a simple blueberry sauce to server over it. The cake is moist and delicious. Raves from the crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndie Stevens
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Delicious. So easy to make. Didn't change a thing. My husband dies not like ricotta so I didn't tell him it was in there. He just asked. Why is this so moist and I said cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Love this! I goofed and only bought one pound of ricotta and we didn't have any vanilla so my daughter used almond extract. The was excellent! It is now my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I make a small improvement to this cake too. I, too, only use half of the ricotta cheese amount but I also make this change. Ten minutes before the end of the cooking time, I mix 2 tablespoons of granulated sugar with 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and sprinkle this mixture over the top of the unfinished cake. Then I put the cake back into the oven to finish baking. This is a nice little addition to a vanilla cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My sister made it for our uncle's birthday party and it was a hit!!!! I think she made it with 3 eggs and it worked...Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I was extremely disappointed after making this cake. I followed the recipe exactly and used a Betty Crocker yellow cake mix. Warm out of the oven I thought it was very bland and my husband agreed (and he LOVES yellow cake). Gave it the benefit of the doubt and tried it the next day, but only marginally better. Maybe less ricotta and more vanilla might have helped, but next time I'll just stick with plain yellow cake. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
So happy to to came across this recipe today I first came across this recipe 10 years ago you had to buy a 1 (18.25 ounce) package yellow cake mix with the pudding in the mix and I add to ricotta lemon extract and lemon zest and another was is to add anisette I stopped making it because of the empty nest it was to much to have on hand but today I might make !/2 cake or cupcakes the I can make different flavors another snow days I bake I have used bunt pan and cake pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States