Ricotta Breakfast Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
What says Easter breakfast more than some special pancakes and these did not disappoint! I did make a few tweaks though. First of all I did not use the "complete" pancake mix. I used the original which requires for you to add milk, an egg and oil. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp of white sugar per cup of mix which made them even better (don't over mix). Here's another tip, let the batter sit for a like 10-15 minutes. My husband had them with chocolate chips and freshly made strawberry jam (1-2 cups fresh strawberries, 1 tbsp sugar, juice of 1/2 lime/lemon and corn starch) and I had them with blueberries (don't forget to flour the blueberries fresh or frozen so they don't bleed into the batter). I added a bit of lime juice and rhine to the batter for the fresh taste and they were so good. It was such an easy recipe and restaurant quality. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Family approved! Found while hunting for ways to use up extra ricotta. Followed the recipe using Hungry Jack + Trader Joes Multigrain Pancake mix because that's what I had. Cooked at a slightly lower temp than regular pancakes and made mini-pancakes (3-4 in diameter). Flavor is crisp on the outside, and a little more creamy/crepe-like in the middle. Plan to make again, but will experiment with less-processed pancake mix options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
OK, modified a bit. Used Trader Joe's pumpkin pancake mix. I used some buttermilk and milk combined. I did add an egg and some pumpkin pie spice to up the flavor a bit. Used half's on the ingredients we only have 3 people in our family. These burned even at a low heat. These also were hard to flip. I gave up after the second pancake. I added extra eggs and put it in the oven like a German Pancake. Hopefully it will turn out. I suspect that this might have been better if I had a waffle machine. The flavor of the batter was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
We made this recipe one weekend,and LOVED it. Some healthier pancakes recipes weren't as good. But,man these ones RULE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I made these this morning and loved them. I used Hungry Jack Extra Light & Fluffy mix. (BTW I use that for nice light crispy waffles in one of those Belgian waffle makers that flip). Really enjoyed the ease of this recipe: no fuss, no muss. I used 1/2 the recipe with 1 cup milk for the 2 of us. They kept the hunger at bay longer than regular pancakes due to the protein. I definitely recommend you try this easy-peasy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
these were great, but I found that they take longer to cook then a regular pancake. I just made them really thin and they cooked faster that way. they would make a great roll up pancake. amazing with a little sugar and lemon juice. will make this again when I have left over ricotta cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Tried them for dinner tonight, and they were great! I was short on pancake mix, so subbed in some buckwheat flour. Was a little short on ricotta, but still got a sense for the delicious texture of these! They weren't so fluffy for me, likely because of the buckwheat flour, but still great. Topped with "all natural" table syrup and thawed out some frozen strawberries.... fantastic! My three year old gobbled them up, and so did the rest of us! Oh and served them up with a little side of bacon. thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This recipe was just okay for me. The pancakes were very thin,and hard to flip. They were very delicate. On medium high heat(#4) the bottoms burned, and the top was still very liquidy. Don't think I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I modified this recipe in a few ways: 1. Added lemon juice and blueberries -- I eyed the amount of both. I suspect about 2T-1/8C juice & 1/2C berries. 2. I modified the wet to dry ratio by adding eggs & add'l pancake mix. My pancake mix uses a 2-1 wet-dry ratio, so this recipe's wet-dry ratio made the pancakes very thin. So, I added a couple of eggs and add'l batter -- and some milk when the batter was too thick -- until it was the consistency my family likes. I topped the pancakes with warm maple syrup, and even the picky eaters in my family who said they would never eat a pancake with ricotta cheese in it came back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
We tried this recipe as it was written the first time. They were very good. We just made them again with blueberry pancake mix and the zest of one lemon and they were awesome!! We did cut the milk to 1 1/2 cups and placed the cooked pancakes in a 200 degree oven to "finish." I think the next time we will use fresh blueberries and lemon zest, can't wait to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States