Ricotta Breakfast Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
OK, modified a bit. Used Trader Joe's pumpkin pancake mix. I used some buttermilk and milk combined. I did add an egg and some pumpkin pie spice to up the flavor a bit. Used half's on the ingredients we only have 3 people in our family. These burned even at a low heat. These also were hard to flip. I gave up after the second pancake. I added extra eggs and put it in the oven like a German Pancake. Hopefully it will turn out. I suspect that this might have been better if I had a waffle machine. The flavor of the batter was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
We made this recipe one weekend,and LOVED it. Some healthier pancakes recipes weren't as good. But,man these ones RULE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I made these this morning and loved them. I used Hungry Jack Extra Light & Fluffy mix. (BTW I use that for nice light crispy waffles in one of those Belgian waffle makers that flip). Really enjoyed the ease of this recipe: no fuss, no muss. I used 1/2 the recipe with 1 cup milk for the 2 of us. They kept the hunger at bay longer than regular pancakes due to the protein. I definitely recommend you try this easy-peasy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
these were great, but I found that they take longer to cook then a regular pancake. I just made them really thin and they cooked faster that way. they would make a great roll up pancake. amazing with a little sugar and lemon juice. will make this again when I have left over ricotta cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Tried them for dinner tonight, and they were great! I was short on pancake mix, so subbed in some buckwheat flour. Was a little short on ricotta, but still got a sense for the delicious texture of these! They weren't so fluffy for me, likely because of the buckwheat flour, but still great. Topped with "all natural" table syrup and thawed out some frozen strawberries.... fantastic! My three year old gobbled them up, and so did the rest of us! Oh and served them up with a little side of bacon. thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This recipe was just okay for me. The pancakes were very thin,and hard to flip. They were very delicate. On medium high heat(#4) the bottoms burned, and the top was still very liquidy. Don't think I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I modified this recipe in a few ways: 1. Added lemon juice and blueberries -- I eyed the amount of both. I suspect about 2T-1/8C juice & 1/2C berries. 2. I modified the wet to dry ratio by adding eggs & add'l pancake mix. My pancake mix uses a 2-1 wet-dry ratio, so this recipe's wet-dry ratio made the pancakes very thin. So, I added a couple of eggs and add'l batter -- and some milk when the batter was too thick -- until it was the consistency my family likes. I topped the pancakes with warm maple syrup, and even the picky eaters in my family who said they would never eat a pancake with ricotta cheese in it came back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
We tried this recipe as it was written the first time. They were very good. We just made them again with blueberry pancake mix and the zest of one lemon and they were awesome!! We did cut the milk to 1 1/2 cups and placed the cooked pancakes in a 200 degree oven to "finish." I think the next time we will use fresh blueberries and lemon zest, can't wait to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Super yummy! We didn't have milk so I did 1/2 cup half n half and diluted it with water to 2 cups. The texture is slightly more "squishy" than I'm used to, but it's definitely not doughy which I hate. So awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mae Batista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
These pancakes didn’t work for us, and that may have been because of the brand of pancake mix we were using. We found these pancakes to be bland and uneventful. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States