Ricotta Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
The flavor of this bread was great. I used AP flour in place of bread flour, which I think was a mistake because it was not strong enough to hold up the weight of the cheese. My bread was a flat dense loaf, but we still really liked it. Next time I will use bread flour as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Nice bread-I doubled recipe and it worked really nice. Family enjoyed at dinner tonight:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
The best bread ever!! I add 2 tablespoons of flax meal and it turns out great. I use this recipe most weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Tasty. I ate several slices while it was warm. I made 1 1/2 for my 2# bread machine and used only 1 egg. It collapsed a little and the crust on the pan side was a little too deep and dark. I will try to add a couple more tablespoons of flour and put it on a light crust cycle. But worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
If I could give more stars I would. This makes the most delicious bread I have made in a very long time. I doubled the recipe and used my stand mixer, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and I wouldn't change a thing! The crust is smooth and naturally glossy with just a slight crispness and the crumb is moist and rich. Next time I will still double the recipe, but I will bake half as rolls. Thank you, Jenet, for a lovely new bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
What a surprise! I gave it 4 stars because I feel this recipe should be altered to the suggestions calling for 1-3T extra flour. I had to add 3T but am very pleased with the result! It's fragrant and very moist--definitely a great bread for dipping into honey butter, layering as a sandwich--anything... Instead of butter (I don't keep butter in my home), I used 4tsp olive oil and it came out great. I am sure it'd be much tastier with the buttery flavor but it's still great with the oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
What a great recipe - easy for a novice baker like me! Great flavor, moist, and simple to make! I combined the ingredients in my bread machine exactly as the recipe called for. I used the "Dough" settting on my machine to mix and rise the dough. Then I plopped it into an 8X4 loaf pan, covered it with plastic wrap, and let it rise for another 30 minutes. Finally, I baked it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes. It has a pretty color, it's moist, with great texture, and tasted great! Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Didn't really taste ricotta-y, but it was definitely a nice moist bread on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I love this recipe...thanks for sharing it. A friend of mine even bough the bread machine just to make it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I made this yesterday using my bread machine. Doubled the ingredients as others suggested (didn't quite double the ricotta - used a little less than 1 cup). It made a delicious loaf of bread. The taste and texture were both good. Next time however, I think I won't bake it in the bread machine. The quantity of dough when it finishes kneading and rising looks like many other doughs I've made in the machine, but after it baked the loaf was overflowing the sides of the bread pan. It's possible that 2 t. yeast was a little too much. Cutting back on the yeast might have been a good thing to do but it's not likely that I'll do much experimenting with this. So, because it's such a good recipe, I think I'll make the dough in the machine, then take it out and divide it between two bread pans and bake in the oven. It was a terrific way to use up some ricotta without having to make pastry or lasagna - both of which we like, but for two older people watching their diets, we don't need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States