Ricotta and Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is my first review and I have used this site for at least four years. I usually make the recipes on here as directed or used other reviews to help me tweak it. I was a bit adventurous this time and instead of using more cheese (provolone) on top of the ricotta I used some balsamic vinegar. On my first sandwich I just drizzled some on the tomatoes before putting them in the broiler but it wasn't enough. So on my next sandwich (yes, I ate two : ) I poured a SMALL puddle into a shallow plate and put a slice of mulit-grain bread face down. Did the same with the next slice and then proceeded with the recipe.* *If you are concerned with the bread being soggy, put in the broiler on it's own before putting mayo and ricotta on it. I like this recipe as is, but with the Balsamic - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2boyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was good. I only had oregano and mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Nice sandwich it was light and fresh use tomatoes from the garden with a home made ricotta and fresh basil it does not get any better than this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
verrrrrrry good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nickaletta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is good with "Trim" cottage cheese, too. I skip the mayonnaise only because the cottage cheese is enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
A little on the messy side, but YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I mixed the italian seasoning and a little garlic powder into the ricotta and then spread it on the tomato. Sprinkled with sea salt when I put the sandwich together. It was really good and is something we will be making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsM...!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Just a note about the parchment paper: It is MEANT to be used in the oven. If you are having issues with it smoking/melting, you're probably using WAX paper. :) Recipe is fine as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECkate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shell Rock, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I just made this as a late night snack. It was very tasty and very simple. Instead of provolone, I used cheddar since that was all I had. The only thing I would do differently next time would be to sneak in some fresh basil between the tomato and ricotta. Can't wait to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
if ppl r smart, they wont use THAT much ricotta. i love the stuff, but if every sandwich had as much as on the picture, that'd be such a waste. it seems better as a spread than the entire content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michaelangel07

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States