Ricotta and Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I just made this as a late night snack. It was very tasty and very simple. Instead of provolone, I used cheddar since that was all I had. The only thing I would do differently next time would be to sneak in some fresh basil between the tomato and ricotta. Can't wait to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
A little on the messy side, but YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I mixed the italian seasoning and a little garlic powder into the ricotta and then spread it on the tomato. Sprinkled with sea salt when I put the sandwich together. It was really good and is something we will be making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsM...!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Somewhat messy. Next time I would salt and pepper the tomato first and peel it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
The sandwich was excellent but I am surprised that no one mentioned that you cannot use parchment in the broiler. I found out the hard way. Next time I will use foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I always say the messier the sandwich - the better! These were pretty good and I followed the recipe exactly. Next time I think I will cut down on the ricotta and use some garlic powder, salt and pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was very nice for a quick, light lunch. I switched a few minor things up, by using fresh thyme and basil rather than the Italian seasoning, and simplified things by just putting the sandwich all together and broiling the whole thing. I left it open face and substituted fresh parmesan for the provolone I didn't have. Great sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Just a note about the parchment paper: It is MEANT to be used in the oven. If you are having issues with it smoking/melting, you're probably using WAX paper. :) Recipe is fine as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECkate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shell Rock, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Pretty good. Added the italian seasonings and garlic powder, as well as pepper to the ricotta before putting on the tomatoes. Very light and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is my first review and I have used this site for at least four years. I usually make the recipes on here as directed or used other reviews to help me tweak it. I was a bit adventurous this time and instead of using more cheese (provolone) on top of the ricotta I used some balsamic vinegar. On my first sandwich I just drizzled some on the tomatoes before putting them in the broiler but it wasn't enough. So on my next sandwich (yes, I ate two : ) I poured a SMALL puddle into a shallow plate and put a slice of mulit-grain bread face down. Did the same with the next slice and then proceeded with the recipe.* *If you are concerned with the bread being soggy, put in the broiler on it's own before putting mayo and ricotta on it. I like this recipe as is, but with the Balsamic - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2boyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States