Ricotta and Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by keldon
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Since I had extra spinach stuffing, I made an variation which actually ended up much better than the original recipe because I found the original recipe to have some what bland chicken, it basically depended on the sauce for the flavor. (I also added 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese to the stuffing). With the remaining spinach stuffing, I grabbed 2 more chicken breasts and breaded them with 1 cup Italian bread crumbs mixed with a dash of Italian seasoning, and 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese (do this after slicing the chicken). Stuff the chicken and baked for 40 minutes with no sauce, then took it out and put the sauce around the chicken, and in between (not on top), topped the chicken with shredded mozzarella cheese, cooked for an additional 20 minutes. Serve topped with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keldon
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I cooked this dish twice now and it was delicious! Everyone abolutely loved it! I did use a bit more garlic and I believe I mixed way more ricotta and spinach then neccesary so it was over flowing but it made the sauce on the outside chunkier and everyone was licking their plates clean! I highly recommend trying this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I made this for my very picky fiance and it was a hit! He loved i! I stuck to the recipe, just added a little more mozzarella on top. Also, I used my own sauce instead of the jar, but if in a hurry, the Classico sauce is a great one to use. I will definitely keep making this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was awesome, Chicken was so tender. The only change I made was that I used cottage cheese instead of Riccota - Thats all I had in the house. This is definetly a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I normally don't rate the recipes I try on here however I couldn't pass this one up! I tried the recipe exactly the way it was written paired it with some whole wheat penne pasta and it was a HIT! My boyfriend normally doesn't eat leftovers however with this dish not only did he eat all the leftovers but ate them for 3 days until they were gone. Needless to say I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KateS
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I have made this fabulous recipe several times over the past year. I like to change up the mix a bit, this time around I added a bunch of fresh basil from my garden into the spinach mix along with a little bit of oregano. I have also used a couple different types of red sauce, anything goes with this chicken! My trick with the stuffing part that I find works the best is to cut about a 2" slit in the side of the chicken and using a small paring knife cut out a pocket on the inside of the chicken breast, much like a pita. This way you can stuff it full of goodness and only have a small opening to close up with tooth pics. Amazing classic recipe that I will continue to make over and over again. Thanks Maria!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lily.alvarez
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This recipe was very helpful especially after reading the previous reviews. The amount suggested for stuffing was a bit much and would not recommend the full 60 minutes but roughly 50 minutes and best to add cheese when chicken is almost fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lily.alvarez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indio, California, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
There was too much spinach in this recipe. Next time, I would use half of what is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Yum! The filling was absolutely delicious Maria! Because I didn't have any tomato sauce in the house I had to go a different route. I made a roux, added a can of low sodium cream of mushroom soup along with a few seasonings and a quarter cup of Marsala wine and let it simmer for a few minutes. As in the recipe I poured it over the chicken and baked. You can be sure that next time I'll certainly try it with the tomato sauce but in a pinch, this was a very nice flavorful alternative. Thank you Maria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by hothilary36
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
ok this is awesome and easy. I subbed chunks of hard salami for spinach, and served on top of jasmine rice. I will make this again, over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States