Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
This is best frosting Ive made and definitely it's a keeper, I did however follow the suggestion 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening and used only 2 cups of sugar. I did half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
This frosting is perfect! I substituted butter for half of the shortening, but followed everything else to the letter. I frosted 48 cupcakes and had some left over. It tinted very well and tasted great. This will be my go-to frosting from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Bailey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Just tried this recipe and really liked it. Very easy and fluffy. Great taste too. I added a little more vanilla to suit my taste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I have tried many different icing recipes this was by far the easiest and best tasting. I used it for my daughters graduation cake and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I tried this with just milk as it was all I had at the time and it turned out great. I used 1/4 of the recipe and I still had enough for 30 mini cupcakes and 8 big cupcakes. I did use all butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
We did not care for the consistency. It was like very sweet and sugary whipped cream. Also we thought it was way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Panucci

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This frosting was amazing! I had been making frosting wrong for years! I easily made half the recipe and was able to frost a regular cake.....i also used one stick of butter and a half cup of Crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I have made this recipe twice and have gotten rave reviews from everyone! Thank you for making me look so good! I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. One time I only had half and half which worked just as well as the whipping cream. Tip: Making half the recipe is enough for 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Wonderful! I followed a suggestion and used half butter and half shortening. Not too sweet, and a good consistency even when using milk instead of heavy cream. I halved the recipe, and just used what I had on hand since I needed some frosting quick! Much, much better than running to the store for the canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.dr.shot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made this exactly as directed, feeling a little worried about the fat to the sugar ratio. It tastes like pure crisco! And there's a ton of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States