Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Anna the Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This is the perfect buttercream frosting for me! I've used this several times and I love it! I don't use all the heavy cream, about 3/4 of what the recipe requires and I'm good. Perfect consistency every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
It was too sweet and too thin and did not hold up at all on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I used half soft butter and half shorting. The frosting turned out great. I will use this one as a base for all decorating cakes. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhl, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This is an excellent butter cream recipe. I didn't give it a "5" because, like many other here, I made the recipe with half butter and half shortening and I didn't think it was fair to give it a "5" when I didn't make it exactly as written. Using half butter and half shortening, however, makes this a "5" star and it's been added to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
It was smile to make and is wonderful to work with. IF living in a very humid area (e.g. FL where I live) I would suggest on real humid days you maybe add ¼ c of cream at first then slowly adding more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliCat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I'm probably the only one but I didn't like the taste that much. I still gave it 4 stars because of the consistency. I did make a change like others have with the shortening. I used 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening. I beat it forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I have had frosting before with shortening in it and I have enjoyed it. All tho everyone else liked it. I was not a fan of it. =/ It had to much of that shortening taste. If I make it again which I may do because I will always try something twice. But I may go with the with 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening idea to get that BUTTER melt in your mouth frosting YUM! Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyoftwo247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I use all butter instead of shortening. I don't use as much heavy cream but rather add it slowly by tablespoonfuls until I reach a consistency that I want to work with. I also cut back on the amount of salt, unless I'm using unsalted butter. I add 1/4 teaspoon of almond flavoring as well, and if the weather is especially humid, I add a tablespoon of meringue powder to help stabilize the icing, since I'm only using butter. I also make sure I sift the powdered sugar before I add it. I've made this recipe many times and it's quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
It turned out perfect my family loved it. No more store frosting. Very easy to make. I did half butter and half Crisco flavored shortening. I did cream butter and shorting for ten minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
i absolutely llooooovvveeee this recipe it always works!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States