Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
RECIPES IS GOOD BUT IF YOU WANT THE BUTTERCREAM TO STAY WHITE....USE CLEAR FLAVORING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Instead of all shortening, I did 1 cup of butter and 1 cup of shortening, it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
HELPFUL TIPS: The first reviewer helped this good recipe become perfect. My family HATESSS icing so for them to say oh my god ...heavenly ....says a lot. I did 6 c sugar, 2t vanilla, and probably used more like 3/4c heavy cream WITH the recommended 10 min. beating time. You never know what you're missing until you taste this BEFORE the 10 minute mix ...and then AFTER. I gained 5 lbs just from licking the dang stuff. Seriously... (oh and one more thing. this already has a very apparent butter taste to it. greasy definitely would define ALL shortening. do half shortening, half salted butter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Only made half a recipe and frosted 24 cupcakes and still had almost 2 cups of frosting left. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 butter flavored Crisco. Also melted 1/2 cup of chocolate morsels and added to make chocolate frosting. A little on the sweet side but was smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Fischer
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Love this recipe! Works wonderfully for decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Fischer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Great Base icing.... i made mine into Eggnogg buttercream icing! and chocolate mint icing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This frosting was good, but a little greasy and not as fluffy as I had thought it would be. Good basic recipe, but not much punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I love the frosting because its nice and creamy so i just love it............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasa
Photo by la belle vie
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
10 stars for icing! taste just like a bakery.(except better) i did use half butter and half shortening. i cut the recipe in half for 24 cupcakes and still had a ton left over, so the recipe makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by la belle vie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by Jacqueline Wood
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I tried the recipe as is first, and found that it was really greasy tasting. I took advice from reviews and used one cup of shortening and one cup of butter, and it was the most delicious buttercream I ever tasted! I did only end up using 3/4 cup of heavy cream and it was enough. I also want to add that it helps if you sift in half the sugar, fold it in, and then use the mixer, and then do the same with the other half of the sugar. Otherwise, the sugar ends up as a cloud in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States