Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I am not a big fan of super sweet frostings, so this was a bit sweet for me, even after halving the sugar. The texture was really great, though! I made a variation using peanut butter (subbed butter and peanut butter for some of the shortening), and it was very smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I did as others suggested: half butter and half shortening, which was perfect. The consistency is great as well is the taste. A little sweet for me - but isn't all buttercream like that? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
WHO CARES WHAT THE RECIPE IS CALLED as long as it tastes good! Also just so you know butter is made from heavy cream! Churning? Cream? Make sense?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe!!! I followed Joslyn's advice and used 1 c. butter and 1 c. shortening! Perfect for spreading and decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Great recipe! This is the best American style buttercream I have found yet! Thank you! God bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Two of my favourite AllRecipes chefs ooohed and aaahed over this recipe so I was quite eager to try it. The texture and consistency came out nicely but we didn't care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This recipe should be named "Rick's SUPREME Buttercream Frosting! It is the best tasting, lightest, fluffiest buttercream frosting I have ever eaten. The key to success with this recipe is to let it mix for a minimum of ten minutes. I used half butter/shortening, and 3/4 cup cream and got exactly the texture, taste, and consistency I was wanting. Try this, you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is the best buttercream frosting I have made and I have made quite a lot of frosting :). I have gotten a lot of compliments on it and will definitely be making it again and again. It is great for cake decorating (which I do a lot of). Highly recommend it, as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23cuties

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
RECIPES IS GOOD BUT IF YOU WANT THE BUTTERCREAM TO STAY WHITE....USE CLEAR FLAVORING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Instead of all shortening, I did 1 cup of butter and 1 cup of shortening, it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States