Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was my first time making a buttercream frosting. I thought it was just okay. I made it to frost my daughter's birthday cupcakes. I made her six huge cupcakes and this was WAY too much frosting. I have a huge bowl of it in the fridge right now after very generously frosting her cupcakes. She and her friends loved the frosting, so I gave it 5 stars. I mixed in colorful sugars to give it some color. Just to experiment, I put some in a bowl and added Nestle cocoa to it. I actually liked it better that way. All the girls said it was good both ways. I also did not need near as much sugar. I think I ended up using about 6 cups and added about another half teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This is the best buttercream I have ever made! Every time I try a new recipe for buttercream all I can taste is butter. This was excellent! I did take some advise from other reviewers... I did half shortening and half unsalted butter, always add extra vanilla to everything, and once all of the ingredients were mixed I turned the mixer on med/high and walked away for a few minutes. It was delicious! My husband even loved it as well as two of our close friends. This will be my go to buttercream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by at0519
Home Town: Harmony, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Best ever! I divided the shortening into third with butter and peanut butter. Oh my....just awesome on chocolate cupcakes! Also dropped a mini Reese's cup in the cupcake before baking. Peanut butter and chocolate lovers will definitely enjoy these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Just okay for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I just finished making this exactly as originally posted and it's delicious...OMG...the kids didn't get to lick the beaters :) I did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I followed the recipe except used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter; it had a great texture if you're using it to decorate, but it didn't taste like much to me and my daughter. She said it tasted too much like bakery frosting. To salvage it, I melted 4 squares of unsweetened baking chocolate and beat it into the frosting. My granddaughter said that made it great. I may try it again with all butter next time as I am more interested in the taste than decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I've made (and eaten) more than my fair share of buttercream frostings and I must say this is my all time favorite. I usually lean towards cream cheese frosting because I'm not crazy about buttercream, but this is my new go-to recipe. LOVE it. I did replace the shortening with butter though, so I would definitely recommend doing so...the flavor was amazing and the frosting holds its shape really well. 5+ stars from me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morganc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Turned out amazing. This was my first attempt at butter cream icing and I loved this recipe. I halved it and it was the perfect amount for 24 cupcakes(I didn't pile it as high as the picture though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I've been looking for an American Buttercream frosting that is not too sweet, creamy, but holds up well in heat and humidity. So far this one tastes wonderful. I used Hi Ratio shortening and only 6 cups of sugar and 5 ounces heavy cream. I did beat at a med high speed for a minimum of template minutes. Plan to try the as written however mine had a ton of air bubbles upon sitting at room temp for a couple of hours. Any experienced bakers/decorators know why? I would also use less salt as I could taste it and didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States