Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I made it exactly the way described. It was blah. I will continue to use half butter and half shortening. It is a great recipe if you are looking to just use for decorating a cake with flowers, borders ect. But as a new frosting I used, most friends found it a bit bland when I used it on their cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This recipe was great! Like most everyone else who had a 5-star review, I did make a few changes. Instead of powdered sugar I used egg whites, and I replaced the shortening with a half-and-half mixture of breadcrumbs and peanut butter. I didn't have any heavy whipping cream so I subbed 1/2 cup of coffee granules. WHY rate a recipe 5 stars if you changed it? It's not a 5-star recipe if you didn't follow the recipe! Ok, to be fair, I have made a similar frosting, but prefer a buttercream with actual butter in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Very very good. Will make this my standard frosting. I did take the suggestion of other reviewers and used 1 cup of shortening and 1 cup of butter. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Terrible frosting, almost unedible. Will never make frosting with shortening again, on the other hand using the heavy cream made it better. Next time butter, heavy cream, vanilla and powered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memalorie
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
So where's the butter in the "Buttercream"? It should be called Shortening cream. There are several of this very same recipe on this site, and all of them use shortening. Since I don't tolerate shortening very well (it adheres to my arteries like plaster!), I began using butter instead of shortening and it tastes much better. (My cholesterol levels are lower, too, since I began to use butter instead of margarine or shortening). It is slightly less white, but not enough that most people would even notice, and there is an icing whitener that can be added if one wants pure white. The butter needs to be softened a bit before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I have used this recipe many times. As others have stated, I sub half the shortening with butter. I beat the butter and shortening for about 10 minutes. I think that is the key to good frosting, although if you are piping. you may experience air pockets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This frosting is the perfect frosting as long as you use 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter. Is great for cake decorating!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have been looking for a great frosting recipe and this is it. I also used half butter and half shortening and only used 6 c. sugar. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I mixed this up to use on my Christmas Cookies. I would not recommend using it on cookies, it doesn't dry so you can't stack the cookies. After doing a few, I stuck it in the 'fridge and went back to my standard, milk, butter and conf. sugar frosting. This looks great and is really fluffy, but it's mainly because of all the crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msbehaving

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States