Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I have made this recipe twice and have gotten rave reviews from everyone! Thank you for making me look so good! I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. One time I only had half and half which worked just as well as the whipping cream. Tip: Making half the recipe is enough for 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Wonderful! I followed a suggestion and used half butter and half shortening. Not too sweet, and a good consistency even when using milk instead of heavy cream. I halved the recipe, and just used what I had on hand since I needed some frosting quick! Much, much better than running to the store for the canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.dr.shot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made this exactly as directed, feeling a little worried about the fat to the sugar ratio. It tastes like pure crisco! And there's a ton of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Tasty! Taste just like the bakery's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This recipe is a keeper! My family and friends absolutely loved the fluffy texture of the frosting! This recipe make quite a lot. It could easily frost 48 cupcakes. I added a teaspoon of salt. It needed it. Boy was it a hit! This recipes is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is a wonderful buttercream frosting and spreads so easily . I will use it again but never for decorating because it's not stable enough for piping , etc .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ktlynn01
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Delish! Nice and stiff, easy to do cupcakes with! Used butter instead of shortening. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Delicious frosting. Easy to make and light and fluffy. It did make a lot, so I have too much left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna the Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This is the perfect buttercream frosting for me! I've used this several times and I love it! I don't use all the heavy cream, about 3/4 of what the recipe requires and I'm good. Perfect consistency every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
It was too sweet and too thin and did not hold up at all on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States