Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is a wonderful buttercream frosting and spreads so easily . I will use it again but never for decorating because it's not stable enough for piping , etc .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ktlynn01
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Delish! Nice and stiff, easy to do cupcakes with! Used butter instead of shortening. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Delicious frosting. Easy to make and light and fluffy. It did make a lot, so I have too much left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna the Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This is the perfect buttercream frosting for me! I've used this several times and I love it! I don't use all the heavy cream, about 3/4 of what the recipe requires and I'm good. Perfect consistency every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
It was too sweet and too thin and did not hold up at all on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I used half soft butter and half shorting. The frosting turned out great. I will use this one as a base for all decorating cakes. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhl, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This is an excellent butter cream recipe. I didn't give it a "5" because, like many other here, I made the recipe with half butter and half shortening and I didn't think it was fair to give it a "5" when I didn't make it exactly as written. Using half butter and half shortening, however, makes this a "5" star and it's been added to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
It was smile to make and is wonderful to work with. IF living in a very humid area (e.g. FL where I live) I would suggest on real humid days you maybe add ¼ c of cream at first then slowly adding more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliCat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I'm probably the only one but I didn't like the taste that much. I still gave it 4 stars because of the consistency. I did make a change like others have with the shortening. I used 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening. I beat it forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I have had frosting before with shortening in it and I have enjoyed it. All tho everyone else liked it. I was not a fan of it. =/ It had to much of that shortening taste. If I make it again which I may do because I will always try something twice. But I may go with the with 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening idea to get that BUTTER melt in your mouth frosting YUM! Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyoftwo247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States