Richest Ever Chocolate Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
delicious! i took someones' advice and added some cinnamon and it came out perfectly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I made this cake as it was very easy. ....I added 3/4 cup Hercheys cocoa and did not melt the chips...yum...yummy from my "choco-holic" son!. Next time I will drizzle confectioners sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
In no way, shape, color or form should this ever be identified as apound cake. I suppose you could use this recipe for a plain old chocolate cake but it was not chocolatey enough or moist enough or dense enough to be a pound cake! It would help if the ingredients called for sifting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobo on your street

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoover, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was fabulous! I did have to make a few modifications. I don't ever buy butter milk so I substituted regular milk with about 1 1/2 tablespoons of lemon juice. Another reviewer mentioned she didn't separate the eggs, so I didn't either. I put them all in when it said to add the yokes. Then I don't have a tube pan so I cooked it in a regular 13x9 baking dish. It was done in 50 minutes and was very springy! On the first bite it didn't seem as sweet as I was expecting, but it left a very sweet aftertaste. Overall, this will be our cake of choice from now on! Super simple and turned out great! (I do think it would be easy to over bake this. It went from extremely runny inside to completely done in less than ten minutes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Truly scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I didn't separate eggs and I added 1 T. cocoa and 2 t. espresso instant powder (freeze dried) to the hot water and chocolate chips. Baked at 300F for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DecaturFifi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
During half way through the cooking time we opened it by accident and it fell. But then they turned into brownies. But everyone loved them, a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This cake did wonderful for me and my family loved it! It was definitely moist and chocolatey. It did get even better the second day as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHEREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cordele, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This was not rich nor was it a pound cake. I made this cake for a friend's birthday, as I do for her every year, and this was the first time that I was embarassed to give her a cake. This recipe definitely needs more chocolate, it was just a plain old chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States