Richer Than Rich German Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was very good. I used half and half, used half the sugar, and added swirls of caramel since german chocolate cake would have it and that is what I wanted this to taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Just to comment on the person who said the ice cream was grainy. Although I have not had this problem with this ice cream recipe, i did have it happen with another custard based recipe. I let the warm mixture cook too long. It had started to boil around the edges of the pan. It turned out grainy. Per "The Perfect Scoop" by David Lebovitz, when cooking the custard for a custard-based ice cream, it is done when it just begins to steam. Test it by running your finger down a spatula or wooden spoon that is coated with the mixture. It is done when your finger leaves a definite trail that doesn't flow back together. He also suggests immediately removing the mixture to a separate bowl and sitting this bowl in an ice bath in a larger bowl, and stir frequently until the mixture cools. I always do this now with custard based recipes. It also helps shorten the cooling time. I can make the custard in the morning and have the ice cream ready that evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This is the BEST Ice Cream I have ever eaten! Served it to my Bunko Group last night (with homemade German Chocolate Cake) and everyone wanted to lick their plate it was so good. I read the reviews and all seem to agree with me except one .....clearly that person did something wrong - so if you love fabulous ice cream, this is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was grainy and way too sweet. And that was without adding the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Wow. This reminds us of ice cream in Europe that we loved so much!! Extremely creamy. Thank you SO MUCH for this terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aesj22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
It is better than haagen-dazs!!! So goood! I make ice-cream for my kids time to time, but this was the first time with custard base. It came up wonderfully. I cooked, then cooled in a cold water (kids couldn't wait overnight), put in a freezer for about an hour, wipped heavy cream (from raw milk), added to cooled custard and combined using a mixer. Put half in an ice-cream maker and viola! it is wonderfull even soft.Oh, and I didn't have nuts or coconut, and had only one cup of brown sugar. Still came up creamy, sweet and REAL!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This has got to be the best home made ice cream I have ever eaten. It has a rich, thick texture (not thin like most home made ice creams) and absolutely delicious! The preparation is well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I agree with other reviews, this is the best! The only change I would make is cut back on the sugar a little next time. I layered it in a Tupperware with a drizzle of caramel sauce in between. Divine! (Needed to halve the recipe for my Cuisinart ice cream maker)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
The best ice cream I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I used full fat half & half instead of whip or heavy cream and I didn't have 6 ounces of german chocolate so I used 3 1/2 ounces of milk chocolate bar and 2 1/2 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate squares. There are little chocolate specks in my ice cream but its still phenomenal! I also toasted my coconut and pecans together as other viewers did. This chocolate ice cream recipe is definitely a new base for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisbourg, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States