Richer Than Rich German Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Wow! I made this exactly as the recipe is written, except that I divided it in half because I have a small quart-size ice cream maker. I toasted the coconut along with the pecans; 350 degrees for about 10 minutes - watch them closely and stir them often. I used the cookie pieces style of pecans because I like how small they are. I did a 24 hour chill in the fridge, mixed it up one night, made it the next night and this made it REALLY smooth and creamy. I'm sure if you mixed it up in the morning and made it that night it would be fine, but it does need to cool down quite a bit to keep the ice crystals from forming and also to help it get really frozen. I guess you could consider that a drawback since you can't decide to make this and have ice cream 40 minutes later, like you could with no cook recipes. But, trust me, it is WELL WORTH the wait. My husband said it's the best ice cream he's ever had and then ate enough to prove it. I've already hidden a small bowl of it behind the frozen peas in the freezer to make sure I get more than one bowl! Every ice cream maker is different, of course, but it came out of mine like a real thick soft serve style and after being in the freezer over night, it's hardened up nicely, but still scoopable. Definitely a keeper! I didn't have any caramel sauce, but I think this would put it over the top. I'll be trying that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hughes Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I don't really like chocolate ice cream but couldn't pass this up when I saw the title. I made it exactly as written but halved everything. It was incredible. I may add more pecans next time since they're my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe! Loved the suggestion to toast both coconut and pecans together. I substituted coconut extract for the vanilla, added some caramel sundae syrup and about 1 Tbsp Godiva liqueur (keeps it from becoming a brick when frozen) toward the end of freezing. Excellent! I tried making it with low fat half and half and 1% milk - good, but much less creamy. Will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
We loved this ice cream it is very rich and creamy. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Loved this! Never made a base before for ice cream but it is well worth it. Truly the best ice cream I have ever had and worth the hassle. Burnt the coconut and pecans but they were still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This frozen custard turned out great with a very smooth and creamy texture. I only had 2 ounces of german chocolate, so I added some dark cocoa powder to the mixture. I used my Kitchen Aid Ice Cream Attachment and for your information this recipe will fill the canister to full capacity. I had a little bit of ice cream coming out of the top as it was churning. I will absolutely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I made this last night and I am having my first bowl today. This is the best ice cream reciepe I've made! It tastes like store bought! Added caramel topping, SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Earlshoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I used full fat half & half instead of whip or heavy cream and I didn't have 6 ounces of german chocolate so I used 3 1/2 ounces of milk chocolate bar and 2 1/2 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate squares. There are little chocolate specks in my ice cream but its still phenomenal! I also toasted my coconut and pecans together as other viewers did. This chocolate ice cream recipe is definitely a new base for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisbourg, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
The best ice cream I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I agree with other reviews, this is the best! The only change I would make is cut back on the sugar a little next time. I layered it in a Tupperware with a drizzle of caramel sauce in between. Divine! (Needed to halve the recipe for my Cuisinart ice cream maker)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States