Richard's Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by chasinpdx
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I changed the recipe by adding Lobster, Crab, & Clams to the Scallops and Shrimp. I also added Old Bay Seasoning and tripled the Sherry (half w/onions and half with the shellfish) to make an absolutely delicious dish! Add some good Sourdough Bread for the perfect main course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was wonderful. Any fish or seafood will work. Even the kids enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Kinghorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
One of my favorites. I have made this chowder many times. There are usually no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Wow- I was VERY disappointed with this recipe. First of all, since the vegetables (including the potatoes) were "minced" it really lacked the chunky vegetables usually associated with a chowder. Secondly, there was very little flavor, even though I added additional clam juice, cayenne pepper, and salt & pepper. The broth also seemed to seperate, making a very odd consistency. My husband, who found & was looking forward to the recipe, ordered a pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This is an excellent recipe. Also is an excellent base for fish chowder. Add your own favorite seafoods for variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I did not find this recipe very good. I had to add chicken boullion to give it some taste. Way too much liquid also. I wont make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This is an outstanding chowder, better than most restaurants can dream up, for sure! The Sherry adds a touch of class, and it's a breeze to cook up on short notice. I used whole cream and skim milk, as that's what I had on hand, and in the future I intend to add some haddock or cod to add a bit more seafood to the mix. This is a can't miss recipe for those who love a good, rich seafood chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
EXCELLENT Chowder!! I have made this twice so far. I did cut the liquid back by about half, maybe a little less. Served at a dinner party for 8 people as a first course & everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
Be prepared to freeze this soup or eat it for a few days. My 13 month old loves it with crackers crumbled in it(seafood picked out,of course). We're a family of three; mommy, daddy, and baby. Just to give you idea of how much it will feed...for a few days!! Very tasty,perfect for cold weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States