Richard's Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This is really delicious and his cooking process does make very tender meat. The only thing different I did was add the mushrooms and onions and rosemary BEFORE you deglaze the pan. By doing this, you are able to get a nice carmelization. (I also only cut the mushrooms in half cuz I used regular mushrooms and prefer larger pieces). Also, as Richard states, it definitely needed salt. Next time, I will add the salt with the rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Plumpest chicken I ever cooked. Was not over whelmed with the taste of the chicken....will add more spice next time. I partially cooked a bag of baby spinach and added to the mushrooms and onions a minute before they were done. The spinach was awesome and still retained the green taste. All in all a great chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is one of those recipes you look forward to making again and again! I used lots of mushrooms b/c I love them, and it was great! I recommend this recipe if you're having the boss and his wife (or her husband) over -- it's just that GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Richard, Richard, Richard, what a fine job you've done with these chicken breasts! I only eyeballed ingredients (that's the fun of cooking), using fresh rosemary and adding fresh, minced garlic. I opted out of the mozzarella cheese which suited our tastes better. The sauce is velvety and smooth and the chicken so tender you can cut it with your fork. Love the subtle addition of the poulty seasoning in the flour and the chopped onion/mushroom (and garlic) mixture and marsala all contribute great flavor. Quick and easy preparation, beautiful presentation and just plain delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I have made this many times and I give this 5 stars with my adjustments. My husband and I like lots of sauce. I use 3 cups of chopped portabella mushrooms, 2 1/2 cups chopped onion and about 1 1/4 cups marsala wine. I also used 2 very large boneless breasts which I pounded thinner and cut into 6 pieces. I served it with rice and a green salad. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Glenwood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I made this for dinner tonight. It was incredibly good. I made one small change in the order things were cooked. I saute'd the onions and mushrooms (in butter/olive oil/salt) first. Then I deglazed the pan and added the chicken and rosemary. It was wonderful. I added a little salt to the flour mix as suggested and was not disappointed with the taste. I only wish I had made more! I bet this would make a wonderful "leftover lunch"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
A stand-out recipe! I have to admit to changing the procedure just a bit, in that I cooked the onions immediately after frying the chicken breasts (removed them from the pan first) then deglazed with Marsala after everything had been fried off. Since my husband is always looking for sauce, after the deglaze and reducing the wine by half, I added 1 cup of chicken broth into which I had whisked 2 Tb flour, in order to give a light liaison to the sauce. Brought everything to a simmer for about 5 minutes in order to cook off the flour, then added the breasts back, topped with the cheese and proceeded as indicated in the recipe. The chicken was tender and succulent. Awesome, simple recipe. Thank you for posting it! Edited to add: Have made this several times, using different wines and cheeses. I've used dry sherry, Madeira, dark rum. All were fabulous. Have subbed Brie or Jarlsberg for the mozzarella. Delicious! Adding 1/2 Tb tomato paste lends a lovely blush. This recipe is easy to tailor to what you have on hand or what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I used thick chicken breast, will fillet and flatten next time. I used garlic and would also try shallot next time and increased the amount of seasoning in the breading. Even my chicken-hating husband liked it. Will use this recipe again.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEDISH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, California, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
The taste was great, but it came out a little tough. I'd use the Easier Chicken Marsala recipe from this site instead, with the addition of the cheese at the end. I got much juicier chicken with that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
This was good but something was missing. It looked great. There wasn't a lot of drippings to use for a sauce and there really wasn't a whole lot of flavor. I think I may try again and tinker a bit with this one. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Savory Chicken Breasts

Baked chicken with a crispy crumb coating and a creamy, savory surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States