Richard and Suzanne's Famous Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This is by far the best meatless spaghetti sauce we have tried. We followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful. The only change was my husband topped his with a can of anchovies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Truckee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Wow, this receipe is the best non-thick Spaghetti Sauce we have ever tried. The sauce is great with pizza, dipping sauce, spaghetti, lasagna. You should bottle this up and sell it. We followed the recipe exactly and will never change it. Again, thanks!! Your crawfish recipe rocks too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This sauce has an amazing flavor!!! I did not add the water as directed, used 1/2 the sugar and added about 1/2# diced fresh mushrooms. My boyfriend thinks I'm a gourmet cook and asked me to make a double batch next time. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe, Richard & Suzanne. I normally don't like tomato-based sauces for spaghetti (I use olive oil, basil & julienned sun-dried tomatoes) but this recipe has changed my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Excellent! Didn't add any water & only used about 1 tsp of sugar. This is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubbasracecar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This sauce was excellent. My boyfriend likes thin sauce so i figured i'd give it a try. I added some italian seasoning to mine, and also some finely chopped pre cooked Italian sausage. Thanks for the recipe Richard and suzanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pauladean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This recipe is excellent! My husband is not a huge pasta fan, but he couldn't get enough of this sauce. I used fresh tomatoes from the garden and substituted three fresh jalepenos for the onion. It gave a nice aftertaste to the sauce. We will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley Birkholz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Excellent! I didn't add any water and added one additional can of tomato sauce. Next time I will use only 5 oz. of tomato and green chilies...it was a little too spicy for my kids. They kept eating it though with lots of ice water...ha ha ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
DELICIOUS! My husband said this was as good as sauce from a fine Italian restaurant. I used yellow bell pepper instead of green because my husband hates green pepper, and I left out the water on the advice of other reviewers. It was a perfect consistency and the flavor was awesome. Look no further, this is GREAT sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Loved this recipe and have gotten rave reviews from all who consumed. I made some slight modifications... 1.) I simmered for many hours 2.) I added water gradually, 1/2 cup at a time to achieve consitency I liked. 3.) Put stewed tomatos in the food processor prior to putting in the pan (because I can't eat chunks of tomatos) 4.) added some sliced sausage Thanks much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I really enjoyed this simple recipe. I hadn't defrosted any meat this morning but had left over chicken from tacos last night. I also just used a Catelli spaghetti sauce as that's all I had. Very versitile - a keeper Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbellis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States