Richard and Suzanne's Famous Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Wow, this receipe is the best non-thick Spaghetti Sauce we have ever tried. The sauce is great with pizza, dipping sauce, spaghetti, lasagna. You should bottle this up and sell it. We followed the recipe exactly and will never change it. Again, thanks!! Your crawfish recipe rocks too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Loved this recipe and have gotten rave reviews from all who consumed. I made some slight modifications... 1.) I simmered for many hours 2.) I added water gradually, 1/2 cup at a time to achieve consitency I liked. 3.) Put stewed tomatos in the food processor prior to putting in the pan (because I can't eat chunks of tomatos) 4.) added some sliced sausage Thanks much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
DELICIOUS! My husband said this was as good as sauce from a fine Italian restaurant. I used yellow bell pepper instead of green because my husband hates green pepper, and I left out the water on the advice of other reviewers. It was a perfect consistency and the flavor was awesome. Look no further, this is GREAT sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This sauce has an amazing flavor!!! I did not add the water as directed, used 1/2 the sugar and added about 1/2# diced fresh mushrooms. My boyfriend thinks I'm a gourmet cook and asked me to make a double batch next time. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe, Richard & Suzanne. I normally don't like tomato-based sauces for spaghetti (I use olive oil, basil & julienned sun-dried tomatoes) but this recipe has changed my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Wonderful sauce, we made it just as is with the exception of and additional two cans of tomato paste added at the end of cooking. We will not be buying bottled Spaghetti Sauce any longer...Wonderful Flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Excellent! Didn't add any water & only used about 1 tsp of sugar. This is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubbasracecar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This was a good pasta sauce. It wasnt one of my favorites but I enjoyed making it. I dont like my sauce as thin as this recipe is, so I only added about 2 cups of water and simmered a lot longer, about 1 1/2 to 2 hours. I did have to season this very well with italian seasonings and dried basil. When putting in fresh basil at the beginning it pretty much mellows out the flavor and is better to add close to the end to get the full basil flavor. I chunked up some yellow squash and added it in as well. The sauce came out nice and robust from all the vegies and simmering longer. It didnt seem to coat the spaghetti as well as other pasta sauces do, and it made a big batch! So we had plenty of leftover sauce. Thanks for the recipe! I may make again sometime because I really liked the addition of all the vegies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Okay, Okay..I didn't read the recipe submitter's notes before making this recipe. I looked at the ingredients and had everything and followed the recipe as stated except used only 1 teaspoon of sugar. The end result was a very THIN and runny sauce (not like any sauce I have seen before). In order to make it more like my family likes it I added one 6oz. can of tomato paste. The green chili's give it a very subtle heat. I served this sauce over the Maria's Stuffed Chicken Breasts recipe. Overall, it was a good tasting sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I added a couple more cloves of garlic, used a red bell pepper (we don't care for green pepper) and to make the sauce a little fuller, I did add in 8 ounces of sliced mushrooms. This was okay--not our favorite but filling. For my husband and I, we thought that the green onions just weren't a good fit and it could have used more seasoning. I think that this would make a good dipping sauce for breadsticks or even a meatball sandwich instead of over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
great flavor but way too watery. I dont like it thick, but man! This is too too watery. Next time I will not add water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States