Richard and Suzanne's Famous Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe with fantastic flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Great recipe, I left out the water because I like mine saucy.. If I wanted to increase the yield, I would add tomato sauce or more diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This was a good pasta sauce. It wasnt one of my favorites but I enjoyed making it. I dont like my sauce as thin as this recipe is, so I only added about 2 cups of water and simmered a lot longer, about 1 1/2 to 2 hours. I did have to season this very well with italian seasonings and dried basil. When putting in fresh basil at the beginning it pretty much mellows out the flavor and is better to add close to the end to get the full basil flavor. I chunked up some yellow squash and added it in as well. The sauce came out nice and robust from all the vegies and simmering longer. It didnt seem to coat the spaghetti as well as other pasta sauces do, and it made a big batch! So we had plenty of leftover sauce. Thanks for the recipe! I may make again sometime because I really liked the addition of all the vegies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I added a couple more cloves of garlic, used a red bell pepper (we don't care for green pepper) and to make the sauce a little fuller, I did add in 8 ounces of sliced mushrooms. This was okay--not our favorite but filling. For my husband and I, we thought that the green onions just weren't a good fit and it could have used more seasoning. I think that this would make a good dipping sauce for breadsticks or even a meatball sandwich instead of over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
great flavor but way too watery. I dont like it thick, but man! This is too too watery. Next time I will not add water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
My family LOVES this sauce. I made a couple of small changes; I used crushed tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce (to make it just a bit chunkier), omitted the green pepper (because I'm the only one in my family of 4 who likes it) and added an extra can of Italian style diced tomatoes instead of the water because I didn't want the sauce to be too thin. It turned out fabulous! This is the 3rd time I'm making it this month!!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, it's perfect for the days I've forgotten to defrost meat for dinner and I always have all of the ingredients on hand!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I really enjoyed this simple recipe. I hadn't defrosted any meat this morning but had left over chicken from tacos last night. I also just used a Catelli spaghetti sauce as that's all I had. Very versitile - a keeper Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbellis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Loved this recipe and have gotten rave reviews from all who consumed. I made some slight modifications... 1.) I simmered for many hours 2.) I added water gradually, 1/2 cup at a time to achieve consitency I liked. 3.) Put stewed tomatos in the food processor prior to putting in the pan (because I can't eat chunks of tomatos) 4.) added some sliced sausage Thanks much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
DELICIOUS! My husband said this was as good as sauce from a fine Italian restaurant. I used yellow bell pepper instead of green because my husband hates green pepper, and I left out the water on the advice of other reviewers. It was a perfect consistency and the flavor was awesome. Look no further, this is GREAT sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was delicious! But with the stewed tomato and diced tomato, the sauce was chunky, which I quite like. I also added chunks of zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States