Richard and Suzanne's Famous Red Beans and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This recipe is AMAZING!! My husband and I will add it to our regular rotation of dinners. The one change I made was to reduce the fat by cutting out the butter, not using the bacon drippings to cook the veggies (I just used the olive oil) and not adding the sausage grease to the bean mixture at the end. The recipe still turned out GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I made a few changes due to time constraints and what was on hand. I sliced the andouille, browned it in a little olive oil, then added the onions, green bell pepper and garlic. When this was softened, I added canned kidney beans, freshly ground pepper, and some chicken broth (didn't need salt as the broth was pretty salty). Simmered it, covered, for about 30 mins, and served it over rice. This wasn't the most appetizing-looking meal ever, but it was hearty and filling. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Great flavor, but I felt that it had too much liquid, even after simmering for some time, so I drained mine a bit and served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I grew up eating red beans & rice on a regular basis. I've also tried many different recipes and just couldn't find "the one." This one is it. I made it with the bacon as instructed, but I just don't see the need for it. And, I ended up having to make a roux because I like my beans a little thicker. And for those reasons (and those reasons only) I had to give 4 out of 5 stars. Truly a great red beans dish! Don't forget the corn bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFANY LENNING

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pace, Florida, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Of the red beans and rice recipes on the site, this is our favorite - kids included. It has the best flavor and consistency. I omit the bacon, green pepper, and butter simply because I didn't have those ingredients on hand or it seemed unnecessary. I also typically make the red beans from dried beans. It's a hearty meal for supper, and it's yummy warmed up and served as a dip with ritz crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I am from Baton Rouge originally so Ive had alot of red beans and rice! This is the closest thing to being back in the swamp state. I do like a thicker base so I make a roux but overall this recipe really hits all the flavors. I also serve over white rice and serve either corn bread or french bread to sop up the juices. I find that using a thick cut, smoked bacon works best. Sure you will spend 3$ more for the better quality bacon but I think it's worth it. Check out this users crawfish pasta as well...I have not made it yet but it is similar to my mom's recipe and hers is divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
AWESOME!!! I used a TJ's bag of frozen bell peppers because it's cheaper and faster than using fresh, and a regular yellow onion because I didn't have any green. I also used 1 qt homemade chicken broth and 1 qt water. At first it looked like too much liquid but it cooked down nicely and thickened up. Served over rice and with cornbread - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shayla
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I ABSOLUTLY LOVE this recipe that's why I had to take a picture of it (the 1st picture you see w/cornbread) I followed directions d directions accordingly and over time I've adjusted the ingredients to my liking..pair it with some Southern style corn bread and you really talking business now! **Thank you Richard and Suzanne**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe- I will use this again- but reduce the pepper flakes by 1/2 and only about a cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Spicy and good....made me sweat! Make sure you taste first before adding salt because the sausage is salty. For those in my family who prefer a tad less spice, next time I may cut the pepper flakes a bit, but the spiciness does mellow out a lot by the next day for leftovers. Also, I made a roux with the butter before adding, to thicken sauce a bit, since others commented on the wateriness. Great over rice and with skillet cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States