Rich Yogurt Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
What a great recipe! Replaced shortening with coconut oil and flour with all purpose gluten free flour. A wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
We added cinnamon and nutmeg, subbed 1/4 cup olive oil, and used honey vanilla Greek yogurt. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
These were actually very good. The batter was a little thick but worked out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Love these easy waffles! I use plain Greek yogurt (protein!), add vanilla extract and use applesauce for the shortening. I sub applesauce in almost all my baking and everything comes out fluffy and delicious. Can easily add a couple bananas and cinnamon or blueberries or chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Not a big fan of shortening so I used butter instead. Needed six waffles instead of four but the adjustment made enough batter for ten waffles! Bakers beware. Good basic recipe. Separating the eggs and folding in whipped whites last makes for a superior waffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Great recipe! Even with 1/4 c olive oil in place of shortening which I never cook with. Came out fluffy and delicious. I also only had plain Greek yogurt, so I added brown sugar and some vanilla. Came out tasty! Even to my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I used melted butter instead of shortening, and full fat Greek honey vanilla yogurt. Sooooo fluffy and delicious! I topped these waffles with this: Melt ½ cup of butter in a frying pan, add 3 sliced bananas and cook until bubbly and slightly softened. Stir in 1 cup of pure maple syrup and a sprinkling of cinnamon, and heat through. Luscious, and replaces the usual butter + syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Best Waffles Ever!!! I have tried so many waffle recipes and waffle mixes and this one is my favorite, hands down. I only tried this recipe because I had a tub of yogurt that was about to expire and boy, am I glad I did. Following other reviewers suggestions, I substituted 1/4c. oil instead of shortening. Also, because I only had plain yogurt I added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tbsp of honey. The batter came together beautifully. These waffles took longer to cook than most other waffles I've made, about 4.5-5 minutes. They are so tasty and rich, yet light and fluffy. Thank you so much for this recipe, it's exactly what I've been looking for! Perfect waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
A little too heavy and didn't crisp up to my preference. I decided to make these because I had yogurt on hand. I probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I happen to be out of Crisco, I substituted vegetable oil in equal amounts. For me, the batter was a bit thinner than what I'm used to but the waffles were passable. We liked the flavor that the yogurt gave to these waffles. I think if I make these again, I'd take Sarah May's advice and cut back on the fat called for in this recipe by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States