Rich Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I thought this recipe worked great. I did sub 4 whole eggs for the 6 egg yolks though. I don't know what the problem is with the rest of the people saying it is dry. Mine came out very moist and airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I lost a similar recipe in a divorce; he kept all my cookbooks. The trick is beating the cake for about 2 minutes at each stage: butter, butter/sugar/vanilla (I use cognac)/and each milk and flour addition. Also, I used two eggs and four yokes instead of just yokes. Also, this cake is incredibly versatile. You can make a dozen or more cakes from it by adjusting the liquid and fruit ingredients. For a light lemon butter cake, I used the juice and zest from one lemon. And I am going to ice it with a more lemony butter cream icing. But you can make dump cakes, coconut cakes, orange cakes, banana cakes, etc. I've been looking for the recipe for years (from an old International cookbook). I'm so glad I found it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
This is a VERY rich cake. Everyone loved it! I have been asked to make it again at least a dozen times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
This cake was easy to make, doesn't use exotic ingredients, is soft and tastes splendid. You could top it with anything because although the inside is tender, it is somewhat crusty on top(good for frosting)I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Great cake! I found the batter to be way to dry so I added milk when mixing. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2000
It was really good but not as good as wedding cake. It was exceptional, one of the better cake recipes I have tried. It is a little crumbly which makes it harder to frost but exceptionally moist and tasty, better than the store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This cake is very dry. Since I like a moist cake I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This is an extremely hard cake to make...it is really dry and tasteless. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
This was one of the worst cakes I have ever made...i will not make it again....ewe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
Unfortunately this was not a good cake and I won't make it again. There wasn't much flavor to the batter and the finished cake was exceptionally dry - not at all moist. I think the cooking time was too long. I took my cakes out 6 minutes early and the top of the cake was too brown and crunchy and the inside dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States