Rich Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I used this recipe for my bosses birthday, I was so embarassed when everyone started eating it. The cake was dry and the flavor was awful. This is the worst recipe I have ever made. I will never use it again, nor would I ever recommend this recipe to someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
Unfortunately this was not a good cake and I won't make it again. There wasn't much flavor to the batter and the finished cake was exceptionally dry - not at all moist. I think the cooking time was too long. I took my cakes out 6 minutes early and the top of the cake was too brown and crunchy and the inside dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
This was one of the worst cakes I have ever made...i will not make it again....ewe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This was a terrible cake. It shouldn't even be called a cake. It was dry and it cracked. It tasted like dough.The ingredients alone is more valuable then this cake. If you are planning to bake a cake, don't kill yourself with this one. Believe me, after you bake this thing, you will never want to bake again. All this so called dessert does is waste your time, ingredients, and now you have a load of dirty dishes to do. DO NOT BAKE THIS CAKE!Don't torture yourself like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This cake was terrible. It was a waste of my time and ingrediants. The cake was very dry and cracked can't ice it. It makes a good sweet bread though. This is what I get for not reading reviews first but I've learned my lesson. I think there might have been a typo maybe it should have been 2 cups of flour and not 4 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junia Sonier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This is an extremely hard cake to make...it is really dry and tasteless. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Great cake! I found the batter to be way to dry so I added milk when mixing. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
This is a VERY rich cake. Everyone loved it! I have been asked to make it again at least a dozen times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This sholdent have been called a cake. However being my first time i dident think to read the reviews. my dad said the top was good and i have to admit it was alright. it tasted more like sweetbread to me. So if this is your firs time DONT PICK THIS RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
This cake was easy to make, doesn't use exotic ingredients, is soft and tastes splendid. You could top it with anything because although the inside is tender, it is somewhat crusty on top(good for frosting)I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States