Rich Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I lost a similar recipe in a divorce; he kept all my cookbooks. The trick is beating the cake for about 2 minutes at each stage: butter, butter/sugar/vanilla (I use cognac)/and each milk and flour addition. Also, I used two eggs and four yokes instead of just yokes. Also, this cake is incredibly versatile. You can make a dozen or more cakes from it by adjusting the liquid and fruit ingredients. For a light lemon butter cake, I used the juice and zest from one lemon. And I am going to ice it with a more lemony butter cream icing. But you can make dump cakes, coconut cakes, orange cakes, banana cakes, etc. I've been looking for the recipe for years (from an old International cookbook). I'm so glad I found it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I thought this recipe worked great. I did sub 4 whole eggs for the 6 egg yolks though. I don't know what the problem is with the rest of the people saying it is dry. Mine came out very moist and airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This cake did not turn out right. It was very dry and it cracked. Will not use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Not a good recipe. It took forever to get my oven to 2880C to get this stuff to melt. The resulting cake was not enrich- able.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I used this recipe for my bosses birthday, I was so embarassed when everyone started eating it. The cake was dry and the flavor was awful. This is the worst recipe I have ever made. I will never use it again, nor would I ever recommend this recipe to someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This sholdent have been called a cake. However being my first time i dident think to read the reviews. my dad said the top was good and i have to admit it was alright. it tasted more like sweetbread to me. So if this is your firs time DONT PICK THIS RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This cake was terrible. It was a waste of my time and ingrediants. The cake was very dry and cracked can't ice it. It makes a good sweet bread though. This is what I get for not reading reviews first but I've learned my lesson. I think there might have been a typo maybe it should have been 2 cups of flour and not 4 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junia Sonier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This was a terrible cake. It shouldn't even be called a cake. It was dry and it cracked. It tasted like dough.The ingredients alone is more valuable then this cake. If you are planning to bake a cake, don't kill yourself with this one. Believe me, after you bake this thing, you will never want to bake again. All this so called dessert does is waste your time, ingredients, and now you have a load of dirty dishes to do. DO NOT BAKE THIS CAKE!Don't torture yourself like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This is an extremely hard cake to make...it is really dry and tasteless. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This cake is very dry. Since I like a moist cake I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States