Rich 'N Thick Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Not really thick, but rich, for sure. I cut it in half, made a big sized mug just for myself. Used half'n'half. I added a few shakes of cinnamon while the chocolate/water/sugar was at a boil, along with a shake of salt. I think it really brought up the flavor. While sweet, it's not really a chocolatey richness. I may add more chocolate next time, or a bit less sugar. Overall, not bad, and it makes up quick/I had everything in the house. It's worth a shot! And the recipe cuts in half wonderfully. :) Oh, and I omitted the vanilla- totally forgot about it. But it was still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was okay. I agree with another reviewer that it ended up being a bit chalky. Somehow this makes it seem quite a bit like powdered mix hot chocolate. Also, I think the water takes away from the creaminess. I really wish it has a more chocolaty flavor- I am getting more vanilla than anything else. It might be better with less sugar and less vanilla, but I think I'll just try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
i didnt boil it, perhaps i should have, but mixing water and chocolate seemed so weird plus boiling it.... i know if making chocolates you should never get water in chocolate as it will make it gritty... but maybe i'll try boiling it. Problem was that it was not thick at all. Tastes great, not gritty... but definitely not thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I used half water and half half and half (wanted to use it before it expired) and talk about chocolatey goodness!!! Yum Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHASTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
WAY too chalky! Flavor was good, but it was so gritty, I couldn't finish my cup. I think you can skip this recipe since it is so-so anyways, and find a much better one on the website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I did not enjoy this hot chocolate at all! I used exactly what the recipe called for, unlike other reviewers, and it was not good! The taste was very bitter and even after I added half and half, extra sugar, and a little salt, it was still very bitter. It might be better if it started with something other than the unsweetened chocolate squares, but I won't be giving this recipe a second try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
The wow was when I tasted the mixture of chocolate, water, sugar, and vanilla. I added the vanilla at that time instead of waiting till the end to add it. When I added the milk it wasn't chocolaty enough. I had to double the amount of chocolate I used. Next time I'll make it with more chocolate and of course some cream for part of the milk. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This was OK - only marginally better than the store-bought powder that is my norm and not quite worth the time and effort. My quest for a good hot chocolate recipe continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
We made this at Christmas time and my kids loved it. It was simple enough that they could help and everyone enjoyed it. We made it with 1% milk as that it what we drink. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This recipe is excellent on its own! I didn't have any vanilla so I left that out. My husband loves peanut butter so I added a tablespoon of that. It turned out amazing! I also used semi-sweet chocolate instead of unsweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer W,

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States