Rich Mexican Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I used one can of mild green chilies in this recipe instead of jalapenos only because I was feeding small children--I made no other changes. This was just okay. There seemed to be more sauce than there was corn and it didn't have a whole lot of flavor. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mtbiketx
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Made this recipe and really liked it. I cut the butter in half and used some roasted hatch chilies instead of using jalapenos. It turned out great and people we going back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This is wonderful! I have made this at least 5 times so far. I use 1/4 cup butter and no milk. I add in about 4-5 T of a mixture of red & green pepper and onion. Also, I sprinkle some chili powder and cumin into the cream cheese & butter and then stir in about 2 T chopped pickled jalapeno's. You can adjust this recipe to how mild or hot you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dahl House

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
"Rich" Mexican Corn is right! With all the butter, cream cheese, and milk, the proportion of dairy completely overpowers the veggies...at least for my palate. This recipe sounded great as written, but was disappointing when made. I ended up turning this into a corn chowder by adding several cups of chicken broth and some bacon crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
So yummy. I added a couple cloves of chopped garlic, onion powder, and a pinch of salt. Excellent with steak fajitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Rich is an understatement. You can actually see the butter floating. It would be sooo much better without so much butter. Would be tasty as a dip with chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Made this for dinner tonight. Used 1 1/2 bags of frozen corn (24 oz instead of 16) heavy cream instead of milk, 1 tbs Tony C's seasoning and 4 oz can of green chiles instead of the jalapenos. I was a little worried because it looked a slightly runny, but it was absolutely delicious. The "sauce" did "firm up" a little after standing for about 10 minutes. Rave reviews from EVERYONE! Will DEFINITELY be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Holy Cow! Great recipe and even the kids ate it up. To be honest, I kicked it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick McLemore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Used green chilis instead of jalapenos. Very rich and creamy with great flavour. Rave reviews from the Thanksgiving crowd. Reduce the milk if using home frozen corn that is much juicier than commercially frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This was fabulous! I needed a Mexican dish for a pot luck, and tried this one. Only I was concerned it would be too hot, because I tasted it after adding only two jalapenos, and it brought tears to my eyes, so I didn't add any more. Turns out the peppers loose their heat in the cooking process, I should have followed the recipe. I did substitute sour cream instead of milk, and I topped it with a little grated cheese after it was done, about 2Tablespoons. It got rave reviews and everyone wanted the recipe. What a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States