Rich Mexican Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Verrrry bland - even tho I added sauteed onion and garlic as well as about 1/2 small can of green chilies. Also very rich, tho I knew that going in, given the title. But really, that's all there is to this dish - just richness. Won't repeat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Assembled casserole and refrigerated about 3 hours before baking for company. Followed baking instructions and was perfectly cooked. I made exactly per the recipe except chickened out and only used 2 jalapenos and added a 4 oz can of chopped green chiles. Could have used more jalapenos (my fault) and also thought it needed a little salt maybe added to the cream sauce. A really good dish, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I made this but doubled the recipe and added things. I used 4 cans corn, 16 oz. cream cheese, 3/4 cup milk (1/2 c. & added extra 1/4 cup when mixture looked too dry), 3/4 cup butter (again, added extra 1/4 c. when too dry), 1/2 onion (diced), 1 lg. red bell pepper (diced), 5 jalapenos w/seeds from half of them, garlic powder, some salt, 1/2 tsp. hot chili powder. I sauteed the veggies w/out corn in pan and cooked cream cheese, milk, & butter in another pan. Then, I added it all together w/ the corn (drained) and baked in oven. Toward the end, I added shredded sharp cheddar cheese to the top of it. Delicious! It paired awesomely with bbq grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suzyt
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Followed every step but used only 3 jalapeños, great dip. Next time I make it I will double the recipe to 6 jalapenos. My mom asked for the recipe, everyone loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Excellent! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was a hit at our family dinner tonight! I doubled the corn, left out the peppers, and added a large can of diced green chilies. Next time I think I will top it with some crushed tortilla chips. Will definitely make this again... Super easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Midwest Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rossford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Fabulous! Instead of jalapeno I added fresh roasted green chiles from the farmers market. Also added some chipotle seasoning before baking. Thans for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYLOUE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I have made this casserole for years..we LOVE it! I use poblano (4-5) chili's and jalapenos(1-2)...sometimes green chili, if I have some. I remove the seeds and chop into small pieces and then brown in bacon grease. I let them get all roasted looking. Then proceed putting it together. IMO frozen corn is the only thing to use. I always run mine under hot water and drain really good. I don't use the butter..I don't think it needs it, and maybe a little less milk. If I have it, I grate some sharp cheddar cheese in also. I made this over the 4th...I LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I used one can of mild green chilies in this recipe instead of jalapenos only because I was feeding small children--I made no other changes. This was just okay. There seemed to be more sauce than there was corn and it didn't have a whole lot of flavor. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mtbiketx
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Made this recipe and really liked it. I cut the butter in half and used some roasted hatch chilies instead of using jalapenos. It turned out great and people we going back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States