Rich Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is how I almost always make my mashed potatoes, tho' I of course don't measure - just add the ingredients to my liking and to get the right consistency. I've never added onion salt or garlic powder and I have to say I prefer the potatoes without these additions. Since I used these potatoes as the basis for "Twice Baked Mashed Potatoes," also from this site, I did not complete the freezing and baking step of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These are indeed rich! So creamy and delicious. Instead of using garlic powder and onion salt, I boiled some fresh onion and garlic with the potatoes. I added 1 tsp. kosher salt to the boiling water, then another 1 tsp. kosher salt to the mixture. I didn't bake them in the oven, I just whipped them up like regular mashed potatoes. An absolutely perfect compliment to the roast chicken I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very rich and delicious mashed potatoes. I only used 6 potatoes, 1 tbls butter, 3 oz cream cheese, just eyeballed the sour cream and the seasonings. Made these for my niece and she loved them. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
my friend, who is a potato expert, ate these right up. they didn't last long for 4 adults and 5lbs of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Great recipe for a crowd. I made a chicken dish in my crockpot so that I could free up the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very yummy! Very rich, but it doesn't seem so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This is a good "base" recipe for creamy mashed potatoes. Once dressed up with more fixins ie more seasoning, bacon, etc, it becomes a tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made these for Thanksgiving and they were a major hit. The only things I did different were adding a dash of white pepper and a teaspoon of turkey broth. I also did not bake them until I served them as leftovers the next day. On the whole this is a great recipe and I will be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
These mashed potatoes were soooo good. Very flavorful....cut the recipe in half and served with Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast on this site.....will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States