Rich Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is how I almost always make my mashed potatoes, tho' I of course don't measure - just add the ingredients to my liking and to get the right consistency. I've never added onion salt or garlic powder and I have to say I prefer the potatoes without these additions. Since I used these potatoes as the basis for "Twice Baked Mashed Potatoes," also from this site, I did not complete the freezing and baking step of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These are indeed rich! So creamy and delicious. Instead of using garlic powder and onion salt, I boiled some fresh onion and garlic with the potatoes. I added 1 tsp. kosher salt to the boiling water, then another 1 tsp. kosher salt to the mixture. I didn't bake them in the oven, I just whipped them up like regular mashed potatoes. An absolutely perfect compliment to the roast chicken I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very rich and delicious mashed potatoes. I only used 6 potatoes, 1 tbls butter, 3 oz cream cheese, just eyeballed the sour cream and the seasonings. Made these for my niece and she loved them. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
my friend, who is a potato expert, ate these right up. they didn't last long for 4 adults and 5lbs of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Great recipe for a crowd. I made a chicken dish in my crockpot so that I could free up the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very yummy! Very rich, but it doesn't seem so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This is a good "base" recipe for creamy mashed potatoes. Once dressed up with more fixins ie more seasoning, bacon, etc, it becomes a tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made these for Thanksgiving and they were a major hit. The only things I did different were adding a dash of white pepper and a teaspoon of turkey broth. I also did not bake them until I served them as leftovers the next day. On the whole this is a great recipe and I will be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
These mashed potatoes were soooo good. Very flavorful....cut the recipe in half and served with Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast on this site.....will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States