Rich Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made these for Thanksgiving and they were a major hit. The only things I did different were adding a dash of white pepper and a teaspoon of turkey broth. I also did not bake them until I served them as leftovers the next day. On the whole this is a great recipe and I will be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
My husband made these for Easter dinner. They were great because he prepared them the day before and just popped them in the oven the next day to warm them up. Everyone enjoyed them, except my husband. He found that they had too much cream cheese. Next time we will scale back the cream cheese by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Great, I added season to taste, cheese on top and mixed in a little bacon bit, all my cooking life I've worked on perfecting those restraunt/home cooked mashed potatoes and I believe this recipe got me there. All I was missing was a little cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YoungBusyMoms-tatse4homeFlavor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Making this for New Year's to go along with steaks on the grill. I'm adding cheese, crumbled bacon and chopped green onion and baking in oven. I've made this before and it is a perfect potato to take along to a party. Happy New Year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Woodboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is how I almost always make my mashed potatoes, tho' I of course don't measure - just add the ingredients to my liking and to get the right consistency. I've never added onion salt or garlic powder and I have to say I prefer the potatoes without these additions. Since I used these potatoes as the basis for "Twice Baked Mashed Potatoes," also from this site, I did not complete the freezing and baking step of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These are indeed rich! So creamy and delicious. Instead of using garlic powder and onion salt, I boiled some fresh onion and garlic with the potatoes. I added 1 tsp. kosher salt to the boiling water, then another 1 tsp. kosher salt to the mixture. I didn't bake them in the oven, I just whipped them up like regular mashed potatoes. An absolutely perfect compliment to the roast chicken I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Very tangy and of course, rich. I followed this recipe exact, only adding parsley, using onion powder and a half tsp. of salt. VERY GOOD. I plan on pairing these potatoes with my No-Peek Tender Tips. I can't wait. EDITED: I served this with Carnation(R) Swedish Meatballs and it was off the hook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
my friend, who is a potato expert, ate these right up. they didn't last long for 4 adults and 5lbs of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
These mashed potatoes were soooo good. Very flavorful....cut the recipe in half and served with Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast on this site.....will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Followed recipe as written. These were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States