Rich Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Great flavor!... But so much work! That said...still better then having to fuss with the gravy on the big day...put it in my crock pot soon after I started my Bird...and only time I lifted the lid was to add a bit of fresh drippings when the bird was done. Hot, & ready to go, with out using up stove space or my time. I also did crockpot mashed potatoes, & between the 2, it gave me enough time to enjoy a glass of wine with my guests, instead of running around like a nut...in the home stretch! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is good for soup stock too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Branson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
WOW! Fantastic. So rich and smooth, great flavour and texture. The roux took 3 - 4 min to start to turn golden;. When I first started adding the stock it looked like chocolate fondue but in the end the proportion was perfect. All my guests raved about it, I will definitely keep coming back to this technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Farrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Excellent gravy. I did have to add a bit more chicken base to get a good taste, but the roasting of the turkey pieces were perfect... I did also have to add a bit more flour to make it thicker. Good taste and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I used to struggle with making gravy. Since i came across this recipe the struggle no longer exists. I made this gravy last thanksgiving and my nieces loved it. This will definitely be a regular part of thanksgiving dinner from now on. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This has been my go to turkey gravy recipe for a few years. Yummy! I did cut out a pan this year though. I roasted the turkey wings and vegis in an 8 qt la cruset pan. Reserved the wings and vegis than proceeded with the wine in the same la cruset. Basically, the only pans I used were the La Cruset, a large bowl and colander for straining the broth. I also used an immersion blender to blend the carmelized vegis into the finished gravy for even richer results. I also add the rec. turkey drippings just before serving. I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made this last year and it was such a time-saver. This year all I could find were smoked turkey wings. We'll see how if turns out. Last year I simmered my wings in the broth/water until the meat was falling off the bone and used some of the chopped meat in the gravy. I love the flavor the white wine gives the gravy. As others have mentioned, it's a bit time-consuming, but it's not difficult to make. I'm making my gravy four days ahead of Thanksgiving this year while I'm watching football on t.v. Totally worth the time not to have to worry at the last minute about making gravy -- and the gravy is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
love it love it love it would like to know if you have a stuffing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Ann Schoemer Kelsch

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made this gravy for my thanksgiving meal. I usually host for about 20 people, most who travel by plane to get to our house which leaves me with the entire menu and cooking. It was wonderful, flavor was no different than if I had made it the same day but what a time saver. I only wish I would have had this years ago. Will definatley do this again for the upcoming holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Fantastic. I gave it 4 stars because it's alot of work and you buy extra meat that you wouldn't need if making the day of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States