Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
excellent base for the soup,but like a lot of others,I mixed it up a bit. I used ground Italian sausage and a kielbasa,still baked the same. I also added 2 more potatoes and pureed them,to get some thickness. Finally,I added a Tbls of chipped rep pepper for a kick. My 90 year old grand mother loved it,lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencer Nunnally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was a wonderful soup. I made cornbread with this, and it was the main course for a dinner. My family could not stop praising this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hempman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claymont, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
One of my most favorite soups! I use chicken stock instead of bouillon. I also use real bacon bits instead of actually frying up bacon. And last I use the entire carton of heavy cream not just a 1/3 cup. Wonderful tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made a few changes, used chicken broth rather than water and bouillon, bacon rather than pancetta. Once it was mostly done I tasted and it was bland. I added garlic powder and granulated bouillon and more cream. It was good enough that I will make it again but next time I'll use crispy fried bacon added at the end rather than the sausage and add more potatos and kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
love this one. though i don't measure my ingredients, it comes out the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I LOVE this soup! I did however make a few changes. instead of baking sausage links, I fried a lb of mild italian sausage. instead of cubed potatoes, I sliced mine on a mandolin. instead of 1 piece of pancetta, I used 4 pieces of reagular bacon. I also added 1 tbsp of crushed red pepper & doubled the amount of cream. this soup turned out amazing! it tasted exactly like zuppa toscana from the olive garden. I will be making this soup again VERY soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was a good recipe. I'm not sure what I did differently but it definitely took longer than 15 minutes to simmer the potatoes and I cut mine relatively thin. I also added more cream and allowed the pancetta, garlic, and onions to caramelize before adding the chicken broth. To me this seemed to an additional layer of much needed flavor. I will probably use less kale next time, and chop them up smaller. Overall a tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I love this version. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammied

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I absolutely adore this recipe. I make it all the time for guests and family, and everyone asks me to give them the recipe! The only thing I do differently is that I often use chicken sausage; I like experimenting with the different flavors that Al Fresco makes, but I'm sure there are tons of other out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States