Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
My family has never eaten kale before I made this soup and it was delicious! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This stoup was fantastic. Yes, I said stoup, because I decided I wanted a very hearty lunch, so I added one bunch of kale and one bunch of regular swiss chard. I also browned the sausage in my soup pot until almost done, added the onions and bacon and cooked them down to very brown with stuff sticking onto the bottom of the pan. Once nicely browned, I added the chicken stock, but increased it to 8 cups to compensate for the extra kale. I added the potatoes and cooked uncovered until almost cooked soft. Add the kale & swiss chard and cook for 5-10 minutes, depending on your preference. My husband said this was the best soup I've ever cooked. And gluten friendly (not including the cream as most celiacs can't have dairy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Gresham

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was really good. I didn't have the pancetta or the kale, so I substituted regular bacon and cabbage which I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Rave reviews from my husband! I only made a couple of changes. After reading reviews that the recipe was missing "something" I figured I'd throw in a tablespoon of fresh, snipped rosemary... a great addition! Also, since my husband is allergic to dairy I used soy cream, which worked fine. Definitely give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Really easy and taste great. I added ground Italian sausage, and cooked in on the stove top, with the onions, basil, and oregano. Added exstra pancetta bacon, chicken broth, and exstra cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
excellent base for the soup,but like a lot of others,I mixed it up a bit. I used ground Italian sausage and a kielbasa,still baked the same. I also added 2 more potatoes and pureed them,to get some thickness. Finally,I added a Tbls of chipped rep pepper for a kick. My 90 year old grand mother loved it,lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencer Nunnally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was a wonderful soup. I made cornbread with this, and it was the main course for a dinner. My family could not stop praising this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hempman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claymont, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
One of my most favorite soups! I use chicken stock instead of bouillon. I also use real bacon bits instead of actually frying up bacon. And last I use the entire carton of heavy cream not just a 1/3 cup. Wonderful tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made a few changes, used chicken broth rather than water and bouillon, bacon rather than pancetta. Once it was mostly done I tasted and it was bland. I added garlic powder and granulated bouillon and more cream. It was good enough that I will make it again but next time I'll use crispy fried bacon added at the end rather than the sausage and add more potatos and kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
love this one. though i don't measure my ingredients, it comes out the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States