Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This recipe is delicious!!! I used 1/2# hot sausage and 1/2# sweet sausage...added just a little zip! I used 1/4# smoked bacon cause I couldn't find pancetta, really liked the smokey flavor it added. I will make this over and over again!!! Gayle in Warwick, RI p.s. anyone have any idea where to buy pancetta? do I have to go to a specialty store?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I browned hot Italian sausage, used chicken broth, and added an extra cup of kale. Left everything else the same. Definitely use the hot sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Richards

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was a wonderful, hearty, savory soup. I used ground light sausage and rolled it into 1 inch sausage meatballs, browned them and added them at the end as instructed. I also substituted fat free half and half for the cream. I added sea salt and cracked pepper at the end to taste. It was great!! My husband loved it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
We have made this recipe several times. However, we increase all the ingredients and make a large stock pot full, so there are plenty of leftovers. We've added a few items, gave it a little kick and love it! I use the cut bacon instead of pancetta bacon, add sliced smoked kielbasa and sliced beef sausage. AND....we add Louisiana cajun seasoning. This is definitley not a low fat recipe, but it sure tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I doubled this recipe for leftovers. I used homemade turkey stock instead of bullion/water, and I also used turkey sausage. The kale came out of my garden and I used two different kinds- curly leaf and flat leaf that had lots of purple in it. It added nice variation of texture and color; I recommend it if you have different kinds available. One modification I would recommend is adding the cream once the soup is removed from the heat. Mine curdled a little from the high heat, and it was only at a gentle simmer. I also cooked the sausages in a pan over the stove- but that's not a real biggie as far as modifications go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Delicious! I'm sure to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tenmouthstofeed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I used half & half instead of the heavy cream and added a touch of salt and dill to taste. Hearty and super yummy soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *perky*clo
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
AwEsOmE !! Great easy homemade version of Olive Garden's Zuppa Tuscana soup ! I cut up the sausage (1 lb of hot, 1 lb of mild) & just cooked it in the soup pot with the onions. I doubled the recipe to have leftovers (yum!). The heavy cream definitely is a must for this, if you can have it & the kale is better than spinach if you want it to be like OG's. I topped it with extra crispy crumbled-up bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *perky*clo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I am not really a fan of Italian sausage, but I did enjoy this soup. I used spicy sausage and about 3 slices of regular bacon. I would have liked less Italian sausage and more bacon, personally. I julienned the potatoes, used two bouillon cubes and added a little pepper. The julienned potatoes turned out to be a great idea as I could thicken up the soup a bit by crushing them. I will make this again with regular Italian sausage and less, adding more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I used ground Italian sausage from my local market and Yukon gold potatoes. YUM :) The Olive Garden's Zuppa Toscana is my favorite and it tastes just like it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States