Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I doubled this recipe for leftovers. I used homemade turkey stock instead of bullion/water, and I also used turkey sausage. The kale came out of my garden and I used two different kinds- curly leaf and flat leaf that had lots of purple in it. It added nice variation of texture and color; I recommend it if you have different kinds available. One modification I would recommend is adding the cream once the soup is removed from the heat. Mine curdled a little from the high heat, and it was only at a gentle simmer. I also cooked the sausages in a pan over the stove- but that's not a real biggie as far as modifications go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Delicious! I'm sure to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tenmouthstofeed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I used half & half instead of the heavy cream and added a touch of salt and dill to taste. Hearty and super yummy soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *perky*clo
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
AwEsOmE !! Great easy homemade version of Olive Garden's Zuppa Tuscana soup ! I cut up the sausage (1 lb of hot, 1 lb of mild) & just cooked it in the soup pot with the onions. I doubled the recipe to have leftovers (yum!). The heavy cream definitely is a must for this, if you can have it & the kale is better than spinach if you want it to be like OG's. I topped it with extra crispy crumbled-up bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *perky*clo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I am not really a fan of Italian sausage, but I did enjoy this soup. I used spicy sausage and about 3 slices of regular bacon. I would have liked less Italian sausage and more bacon, personally. I julienned the potatoes, used two bouillon cubes and added a little pepper. The julienned potatoes turned out to be a great idea as I could thicken up the soup a bit by crushing them. I will make this again with regular Italian sausage and less, adding more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I used ground Italian sausage from my local market and Yukon gold potatoes. YUM :) The Olive Garden's Zuppa Toscana is my favorite and it tastes just like it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Yes, this is like the Olive Garden soup I always get!!! Took advise of others and added more potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was excellent!! I don't cook a lot and this was my first time trying this recipe, but it still turned out fantastic. Recipe was easy to follow and dish was a big hit. I did follow some of the other commenter's suggestions in terms of using baby potatos for ease and I also used a bit more bacon for a bit more taste. Thanks for this wonderful recipe. Will surely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was EASY and FABULOUS! I didn't have heavy cream so I used whole milk and a can of cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This soup is easy to make and quite delicious. I too wanted something similar to Olive Garden's soup. This fits the bill. I have saved it to my recipe box and also sent it to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turquois03
Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States