Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was a nice change dinner. We really enjoyed the soup as a meal. I could not find kale in the grocery store so I used frozen spinach, and drained and squeezed out all the water and added at the end of the cooking time for about 5 minutes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I used a can of spinach instead of kale, cooked it in the slow cooker and added a touch of basil, salt, and pepper. Delicious. One of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I just cooked this dish and I am so amazed that it turn out perfect,look out Food Network:) I did add a little parmesan and cayenne pepper, I also served it with garlic bread. My family loved it including my brother who just stopped by to hang out for a minute. It does taste like OG soup. I will cook this again especially since we lost our OG resturant during Hurricane Katrina here in Gulfport,MS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
YUM! I just made this soup today, husband said this is the best soup he probably ever had! Way better than O.G.'s.More rustic and flavorful. I used boullon amount as in recipe but it didn't cover the potatoes and I thought they wouldn't cook so I added about 2-3 cups of homemade chicken stock. It took a lot more than 15 min for the potatoes to cook more like 30 min (I used 3 potatoes).Used 3 slices of chopped pepper bacon instead. I would chop up the bacon a little more next time. I have always wanted to use kale, it just soaked up that bacon flavor. Any veggie that taste like bacon is my kind of veggie!Added more cream because of the extra stock, I added total about a cup. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
very good, i did not have fennel seeds so I am not sure what I missed as far as flavor. a keeper and a good sauce for other pasta's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This recipe is very much like Olive Garden's Zuppa Toscana. I like this one better. I made it more spicy and added more meat. I used ground Italian Sausage instead of links. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
As usual, made a few changes: substituted fresh Polish sausage for the Italian sausage and evaporated skim milk for the cream. Also more or less doubled the garlic. Great soup (albeit no longer "Italian")! And ... now relatively healthful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I made a few ingredient changes because of what I had in my pantry. I used 3 slices of bacon in place of the pancetta. I used spicy Italian turkey sausage, and I used fat free half and half in place of the heavy cream. It still tasted rich and flavorful. Thanks very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
We loved everything about this soup! My husband kept eating bowl after bowl. The 9 year old said it tasted like her favorite soup at a chain restaurant. The only changes we made was the use of tuurkey bacon since we did not have pancetta on hand and a milk/cream cheese mixture instead ofthe cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
My wife has always found my pasta creations superior to any restaurant, but always sent me to Olive Garden for their version of this soup; no more. We both love this simple and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States