Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
i gave this a lower review because I feel the recipe is seriously lacking. I have made soup almost identical to this and I have found that homemade chicken stock is the only way to go. bouillon just doesn't cut it. you need the real stuff. also, nowhere near enough garlic. I typically use 5 or 6 cloves.(my rule is that you can never have too much garlic, and its never proved me wrong) and more onion is not going to hurt either. I buy a medium/large onion and use the whole thing, or I get two small onions and use them both. and pancetta, while it sounds nice, is not necessary. I use a half pound of thick-cut peppered bacon, and cut it while partially frozen into small bits, and then cook at the same time as the onion and garlic. the kale should be torn, not cut. those ribs don't cook down easily. I would also recommend using red potatoes. they're starchier and don't break down quite as easily as baking potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This is probably the best thing I have ever made. I made it for a family dinner and everyone loved it!! It tasted almost identical to the zuppa tuscana soup at the olive garden and that is my favorite soup. The pancetta bacon can be pretty spendy but its totally worth it. Thanks for the recipe! Okay back again to talk about this recipe. I made it for my boyfriends family xmas party last weekned and it was a hit. It was the star dish of the night. To make it even better the family is italian and it was the most italian dish there. It was gone in seconds. Thanks again, this one is staying in my recipe book!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was delicious!!! I also used ground sausage & sliced bacon. Thanks for the recipe - it's a KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa-lu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This was great. I doubled the potatoes and also used ground italian sausage rather than links, and 2 slices bacon rather than pancetta. I cooked the potatoes in the chicken broth first and then used the immersion blender to puree some of it to give it some texture. Then I added everything else, and added the cream just before serving. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I substituted some plain sausages I'd bought for hot dogs instead of real Italian sausages, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was a nice change dinner. We really enjoyed the soup as a meal. I could not find kale in the grocery store so I used frozen spinach, and drained and squeezed out all the water and added at the end of the cooking time for about 5 minutes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I used a can of spinach instead of kale, cooked it in the slow cooker and added a touch of basil, salt, and pepper. Delicious. One of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I just cooked this dish and I am so amazed that it turn out perfect,look out Food Network:) I did add a little parmesan and cayenne pepper, I also served it with garlic bread. My family loved it including my brother who just stopped by to hang out for a minute. It does taste like OG soup. I will cook this again especially since we lost our OG resturant during Hurricane Katrina here in Gulfport,MS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
YUM! I just made this soup today, husband said this is the best soup he probably ever had! Way better than O.G.'s.More rustic and flavorful. I used boullon amount as in recipe but it didn't cover the potatoes and I thought they wouldn't cook so I added about 2-3 cups of homemade chicken stock. It took a lot more than 15 min for the potatoes to cook more like 30 min (I used 3 potatoes).Used 3 slices of chopped pepper bacon instead. I would chop up the bacon a little more next time. I have always wanted to use kale, it just soaked up that bacon flavor. Any veggie that taste like bacon is my kind of veggie!Added more cream because of the extra stock, I added total about a cup. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
very good, i did not have fennel seeds so I am not sure what I missed as far as flavor. a keeper and a good sauce for other pasta's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States