Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inverness, Illinois, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This recipe is outstanding! I used turkey bacon instead of pancetta because I needed to use it up, and I used quite a bit of it. I would not use regular bacon in the way this recipe is written--it won't crisp. Turkey bacon doesn't matter, because the fat in turkey bacon is just an illusion--the texture is solid all the way across. I also substituted fat free half and half for the heavy cream. I added red pepper flakes for heat, fennel seed because I just love any excuse to use it, and fresh Italian flat-leaf parsley because I need to use it up. I used a potato masher to smash some of the potatoes up to thicken the broth. I would make this soup again, doubling or tripling the batch, and doubling the kale recommended for any size of this recipe (it's quite tasty, but do be sure and not use the stems, even if you buy the bagged kale, strip it off the stems!). Thanks for the recipe, we loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is great everyone eats it before I can even have some! Fun to make easy and smells great I fallow the recipe exactly how its written, sometimes just a little extra sausage! But this is my favorite soup for the cold weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Great soup. Added crushed red pepper and used 32 oz of chicken stock and 1/2 cup heavy cream. My husband, 10 yr old and 3 yr old all really liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Outstanding! This is our favorite soup at OG and I was amazed at how easy it is to make at home. Served it to my in-laws over the weekend and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Council

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I have made this three times know and the family couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Mmmm... a big hit at my house. Working from ingredients in house, I substituted spinach for kale and used canned chicken broth. Will definitely double recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I usually think of soups as taking time to taste good. This is an exception. This one is quick & delicious. I used mild ground italian sausage and regular bacon. I used 1 tsp. of "Better Than Bouillon"--this is much better than a cube. I thought the kale was perfect in this soup-a great way to sneak in a different veggie that my family wouldn't otherwise eat and it holds up without getting mushy, too. I did add a little S&P for the finshing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Wonderful soup, make it all the time. I did increase the amount of sausage (and used a combination of ground hot and sweet), pancetta, and garlic (just because I love it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alaina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States