Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I love this recipe. the only thing I did different was add a ton more potatoes (6 in total). because honestly 2 seemed pretty lame. I think it could have used a few more too. My husband liked it a lot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Instead of water I used chicken stock and a pint of heavy cream. It was ABSOLUTELY delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Delicious! Followed the suggestion to purée some of the cooked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Increased the onion to one large onion and the pancetta to about 3/4 cup. Really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Lynn Gaug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacob Moore
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I decided to use some Italian ground sausage instead, because it was cheaper at the time. I read some reviews that it was a bit bland, so I put twice as much garlic, some medley of Italian herbs that I had sitting in a pantry, some oregano, and a bit of red pepper flakes. The ground sausage probably introduced more flavor into the broth compared to the links, I'd presume. It turned out really well. I've always loved kale in soup, it always adds that extra level of texture that elevates the soup to the next level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacob Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My husband really loved this soup! I changed it up a bit by using spinach instead of kale; I didn't have any. Rather than cooking the sausage in the oven I browned and cooked it in a pan. I also added a little chili flake to the soup to give it a bit of a kick because my husband likes food a little spicy. Next time I will probably just use hot Italian sausage. I also added more potatoes; I think next time I will mashed some of the potatoes to make the soup a little thicker before adding the sausage and spinach into the soup. The day I made it I thought it was just ok; but when I reheated it the next day I loved it all of the flavors had blended together nicely. My husband has already requested that I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA MB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I really liked this soup, as did the rest of the family. I see that several people complained that it was bland, but it may have to do with the type of sausage that was used. I used a mild sausage, as I have little ones who don't like spicy, but I took the sausage out of the casing, broke it up in the pot, and then sauteed it. I did not add bacon, as there was enough fat in the sausage. I also used a really good chicken base ( I prefer the better than bouillon brand). It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Yum! Though something was lacking, maybe extra butter? Also, a nice substitute was sweet Italian sausage, removed from the casing, and browned in a skillet before adding to the soup. Overall great recipe. I can eat the leftovers everyday for lunch till they run out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole9z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Great recipe! My family loved it. I used Hot Italian sausage to give it a bit of a bite because my family prefers spicy, and I used white potatoes because they are firmer when cubed and cooked. Regular russets have a tendency to turn to mush when cooked. But otherwise it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States