Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I didn't change a thing about this recipe! It was wonderful. I think you really have to use Kale because it hold up well in the heat. Perfect recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Oh my gosh this is so good! Definately the Italian flavor I like and the cream makes it rich and filling. Not hard to make and a great way to impress your family or guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
I changed it a little, but only to make it easier. It tasted the same. I used 1 (32 oz) box of chicken broth, and I used 1 bag of little potatoes cut in half. My 6 kids, ages 7,11,16,18,21, and 23 ALL loved it and my husband told me it was the best soup he's had in his life. This is the same husband who loves my corn chowder, my split pea soup with ham, and my ham and cheddar cheese soup. My own soups are all good and usually get me compliments and requests for my recipes, but I must admit this soup is better than any of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Better than Olive Garden's recipe. I like to use thinly chopped celery rather than kale though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I've always loved the zuppa toscana soup at the Olive Garden, this was similar but this was better. I used ground sausage which made it even easier, and it turned out wonderful. The whole family loved it even my 3 yr old. This is definetly one of my favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I really enjoyed this soup. It takes almost like Olive Garden's zuppa toscana soup. I decided to use 3 cans of chicken broth and used about a cup of heavy cream. I also added more potatoes & it was great. I thought the soup had a really good flavor. Nothing lacking for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Very good recipe for a great flavor. I made it for Valentines dinner as an appetizer, my family love it, the only thing I did different is I peeled the sausages and cooked them on the stove like when you make ground beef. Then I drained the fat and mixed it with the soup. I also added four tablespoons of white starch to add a little be of consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
AWESOME RECIPE!!! My aunt found this on your site while trying to recreate an Olive Garden favorite of hers. In order to lower the fat content I used (hot) turkey italian sausage links and substituted olive oil for the bacon slice. I also used Swanson's chicken broth w italian seasoning in place of bullion water. Turned out just as good as her batch following the recipe! I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Very similar to the other Olive Garden type soups available on the site, however I thought this was lacking something. In the end, I added fresh black pepper and added a lot more heavy cream. Will stick with the Tuscan Soup recipe from this site. Also, cut up the sausage links with scissors and cooked in the pot instead of baking to save a step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Extremely easy to make and delicious!! Used half the sausage (ground) and twice the potatoes as some had suggested! Mmm, Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kane, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States