Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is great everyone eats it before I can even have some! Fun to make easy and smells great I fallow the recipe exactly how its written, sometimes just a little extra sausage! But this is my favorite soup for the cold weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Great soup. Added crushed red pepper and used 32 oz of chicken stock and 1/2 cup heavy cream. My husband, 10 yr old and 3 yr old all really liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Outstanding! This is our favorite soup at OG and I was amazed at how easy it is to make at home. Served it to my in-laws over the weekend and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Council

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I have made this three times know and the family couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Mmmm... a big hit at my house. Working from ingredients in house, I substituted spinach for kale and used canned chicken broth. Will definitely double recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I usually think of soups as taking time to taste good. This is an exception. This one is quick & delicious. I used mild ground italian sausage and regular bacon. I used 1 tsp. of "Better Than Bouillon"--this is much better than a cube. I thought the kale was perfect in this soup-a great way to sneak in a different veggie that my family wouldn't otherwise eat and it holds up without getting mushy, too. I did add a little S&P for the finshing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Wonderful soup, make it all the time. I did increase the amount of sausage (and used a combination of ground hot and sweet), pancetta, and garlic (just because I love it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alaina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
i gave this a lower review because I feel the recipe is seriously lacking. I have made soup almost identical to this and I have found that homemade chicken stock is the only way to go. bouillon just doesn't cut it. you need the real stuff. also, nowhere near enough garlic. I typically use 5 or 6 cloves.(my rule is that you can never have too much garlic, and its never proved me wrong) and more onion is not going to hurt either. I buy a medium/large onion and use the whole thing, or I get two small onions and use them both. and pancetta, while it sounds nice, is not necessary. I use a half pound of thick-cut peppered bacon, and cut it while partially frozen into small bits, and then cook at the same time as the onion and garlic. the kale should be torn, not cut. those ribs don't cook down easily. I would also recommend using red potatoes. they're starchier and don't break down quite as easily as baking potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This is probably the best thing I have ever made. I made it for a family dinner and everyone loved it!! It tasted almost identical to the zuppa tuscana soup at the olive garden and that is my favorite soup. The pancetta bacon can be pretty spendy but its totally worth it. Thanks for the recipe! Okay back again to talk about this recipe. I made it for my boyfriends family xmas party last weekned and it was a hit. It was the star dish of the night. To make it even better the family is italian and it was the most italian dish there. It was gone in seconds. Thanks again, this one is staying in my recipe book!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States