Rich Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
We have always had the same old green bean casserole everybody uses. I decided to try this for a change--it was wonderful. I used the "healthier" versions of the soup and cheese and it tasted great. I think that made it a little bit runnier, though. I omitted the salt--most Cajun seasonings have salt anyway. I thoroughly understand the reviewer who said his wife had to make him stop eating! Same with us! Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Everyone loved this, although most agreed it is too salty and I didn't add the full tsp of salt. Making again for x-mas but will omit the salt and I'm trying frozen green beans and low-fat processed cheese to see if it mellows it out just a bit. Great alternative to the traditional w/cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Loved this recipe! We always keep a lot of cheese on hand in our house, but not the processed cheese. So I just dumped a bunch of shredded cheese into the mix and melted it. It was wonderful. How can you go wrong using cheese in ANY recipe! At least in our household! Quick and easy also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaylex85
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I've never tried green bean casserole before so i read a lot of the recipes before i chose this one. I think the cheese made it! This was fantastic!! I will definitley make this for christmas dinner :) Thank you for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaylex85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is my favorite green bean casserole recipe!! As I am a big fan of spicy food, I always add a little more cajun. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Absolute favorite! I started using this recipe about two years ago and have never gone back to the traditional green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I don't even know what to say about this except that if my wife didn't stop me, I would have eaten it all. I will hold off on the salt next time b/c between the the canned green beans, cheese, soup, and onions there was plenty. This is comfort food at it's best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pohl Daddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I love this recipe, I originally tried it because I don;t like mushroom soup which most greenbean recipies call for. The cheesy green beans are really good, even for leftovers. I use fresh green beans and I cook them down to where they are soft before baking them in the casserole, they have lots of good flavor and are a must at our holiday table. The only change I make is I line the bottom of the dish with the fried onions and then top with them as well to add a bit more flavor. Besides you can never have too many fried onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is very similar to a recipe I've used for years. Instead of cajun seasoning, I use Ro-tel tomatoes. Any brand of diced tomatoes with green chiles will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This was pretty good. Mine came out just a little watery though..but still good. I think I will add a different cheese or mix up some cheeses and omit the cream of chicken. I also added some bacon bits to the green beans. Pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNM6467

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Panasoffkee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States