Rich, Easy, Old-Fashioned Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I made this with 1 cup whole milk, 1 cup whipping cream and a whole bag of milk chocolate chips. It is divine! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very rich, I added a little extra ammareto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tynie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
It was delicious!! A bit clumpy, but hey...it doesn't have to be perfect, just homemade! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Very good. My kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This turned out lumpy but that was my fault, I was also impatient to try it so I ate some warm; it was ok but I am so glad I left some for latter because then it was a dream! works fine with regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This is half chocolate, no wonder it's so good! Not really a "pudding" treat, more like mousse in that you only ought to eat a tiny serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This recipe is easy and foolproof. I found the bittersweet chocolate too bitter for my tastes in this pudding and I am a dark chocolate lover. Since no additional sugar is added I think semi-sweet is best in this recipe. I used Bailey's Irish Cream since I didn't have amaretto. I used regular half and half and cut it with 1% milk so it wouldn't be too rich. It came out thick and has a great texture but I had to add powdered sugar to sweeten this up. As is it's a good recipe just use the sweeter chocolate if you like it sweet because otherwise it won't be sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I would give this 5 stars except that I scaled it down to 3 servings and there wasn't enough to feed 2 of us!! It was really good and I wanted A LOT more! I'll make the full 12 servings for my family of 4 (one of whom is an infant... I'm nursing so I'll eat her portion!!) VERY very good! Super rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by Hot Chilli
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Very rich, yummy and easy to make. I added some butterscotch liquior instead of rum as I didn't have any on hand. Next time I would serve with fruit like raspberries to cut through the richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is a good recipe if you need a quick chocolate fix. It lacks a little depth compared to other "old fashioned" chocolate pudding recipes, maybe because it has so few ingredients, but it helps to add about a 1/4 tsp of salt, some vanilla, and a little cold butter after it's off the heat. Also, some reviewers said they has trouble getting it to set. The recipe says to bring the cream and starch to a simmer over low heat; typically corn starch needs to simmer for about 60 seconds to thicken properly. If it's not thickening try simmering a little longer. You can tell when it thickens! It happens fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States