Rich, Easy, Old-Fashioned Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I clipped this recipes from USA Weekend which contained an error in the amount of chips. Even with that fixed, the pudding was too thin in consistency. I'm not sure if I made a mistake or if there should be more cornstarch. The flavor was good and I think there is potential, hence the three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I made this with 1 cup whole milk, 1 cup whipping cream and a whole bag of milk chocolate chips. It is divine! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hot Chilli
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Very rich, yummy and easy to make. I added some butterscotch liquior instead of rum as I didn't have any on hand. Next time I would serve with fruit like raspberries to cut through the richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very rich, I added a little extra ammareto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tynie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Very good. My kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This was more of a thick mouse. We didn't care for the flavor very bitter and had to add some sugar to it just to be able to eat some of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I would give this 5 stars except that I scaled it down to 3 servings and there wasn't enough to feed 2 of us!! It was really good and I wanted A LOT more! I'll make the full 12 servings for my family of 4 (one of whom is an infant... I'm nursing so I'll eat her portion!!) VERY very good! Super rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This is half chocolate, no wonder it's so good! Not really a "pudding" treat, more like mousse in that you only ought to eat a tiny serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This recipe is easy and foolproof. I found the bittersweet chocolate too bitter for my tastes in this pudding and I am a dark chocolate lover. Since no additional sugar is added I think semi-sweet is best in this recipe. I used Bailey's Irish Cream since I didn't have amaretto. I used regular half and half and cut it with 1% milk so it wouldn't be too rich. It came out thick and has a great texture but I had to add powdered sugar to sweeten this up. As is it's a good recipe just use the sweeter chocolate if you like it sweet because otherwise it won't be sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is a good recipe if you need a quick chocolate fix. It lacks a little depth compared to other "old fashioned" chocolate pudding recipes, maybe because it has so few ingredients, but it helps to add about a 1/4 tsp of salt, some vanilla, and a little cold butter after it's off the heat. Also, some reviewers said they has trouble getting it to set. The recipe says to bring the cream and starch to a simmer over low heat; typically corn starch needs to simmer for about 60 seconds to thicken properly. If it's not thickening try simmering a little longer. You can tell when it thickens! It happens fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States